Punky Brewster (My 80's Hero)

in #eighties3 years ago

maxresdefault (1).jpg

When I saw this show I was 5 years old, my brother and I would watch this around 8 o clock on NBC. I felt everything this little girl was going through as a kid. Punky went through alot for a child of today can ever understand, no matter what happened she was always optimistic. Sometime it would look like there was no recovering from what was happening at the time, she would always say the right things to perk me up about the episode. I watched this show so much because of my connection with the show.

Punky-and-Henry-punky-brewster-597280_640_480.jpg

Back in the early 90's, 80's reruns were still a things, that is how I remember this. Punky was a little girl who was abandon by her mother at a supermarket. She was in the supermarket for the whole day helping people in the parking lot. Punky meets Henry (Grumpy old man) and together the fight child services as well many other single parent challenges.

punkybrewster-turn-02.jpg

Henry had just lost his wife and he's been grumpy and stern ever since. I can see when I was older he still didn't get over that pain of lost of his wife. He meets Punky and wants to help her, instantly the connection happened. When Henry found out what happened to Punky, he knew what the feeling of lost feels like. This show worked for me because as an adult, my daughters have the same magic she did.

As she got older the challenges got bigger. From her mother returning to brandon almost dying and Henry almost dying.
This can really take a toll on a teenagers mind during the 80s. I never finished the show, because this is a very special show to me. Though I already know what happens in the end, I still like to make the times I try to binge watch this worth it. I didn't watch all of teen punky because I was on my way to junior high and they wasn't showing this anymore. I didn't know about these episode until I got older. Some of the 80's show came with an emotion lesson to every episode.

It was this show that taught me compassion and empathy. This show was the one of many best things that happened in the 80's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71