My Experience Voting For The First Time

in #election6 years ago

Marilah mari, Pergi mengundi. Jangan lupa kewajipan pada negara
Source: Jabatan Penerbitan Negara

That’s the song that kept playing in my head today.

Today is so special to the Malaysian as this is the day where all the people got to cast their vote. And for those who wants to see changes to our beloved country, I can say the 14th General Election is the most anticipated day for the citizen of Malaysia.


This is my first time ever voting in an election. I can say that I am pretty excited and nervous at the same time not knowing what to expect during casting my ballot. I’ll guess I am so lucky ‘cos my sister-in-law is with me (we went to the same voting centre).

Tadika Peak Nam Toong, Tmn. Fortuna

We purposely choose to go after lunch hour since most people come and cast their vote in the morning. After the SPR officer checked my identification card (IC), I was given a piece of paper telling me to go to my polling station.

Less than an hour waiting, it’s my turn to cast my vote. Prior my turn, there is one guy ahead of us is inside the room, waiting to be given his polling paper. After the officer verified his IC, dipped his finger inside a bottle of indelible ink, he was then given his balloting paper. He took his time checked the folded ballot paper and examined it carefully. I think he found something is wrong with his ballot paper and requested a new one. Apparently, after he raised his concern to the officer, his request was granted.

The ballot paper that was rejected by the guy earlier were placed inside a box written ‘damage’. It was then I heard people from the back talked to each other and said the paper should be stamped before it was placed inside the box. Probably it was so loud, one of the officers told the other one to take out the ballot paper and stamped it.

What an experience for a first timer like me and this is something I will never forget. I am happy and grateful for having this chance to use my voting power as a citizen.

Conie_animated banner.gif

Animated Banner Created by @cklai

SMbannersmall.png

Sort:  

I am really proud of you @viverridae . For me ever since I registered as a voter at the at of 21, every term for me is exciting and nervous at the same time. And this round, it was extra special.

This is a new beginning for everyone, and I know even with simple majority for the parliament seat to form a government, there are plenty of challenges and roadblocks ahead I am certain of it.

But take heart, nothing is impossible when the people unite as one. And we have #teammalaysia family to strive and thrive forward together.

upvoted

Thank you @littlenewthings. Indeed, it is a new beginning to the Malaysian. It feels great to vote for the first time, especially when we've won! Although in my state right now is in chaos because of a traitor, still I am happy and glad that something is definitely changing.

I do hope the people in my state will unite as one. But I'll guess, no matter what, money always wins.

Ini Kali Lah!!!! Sudah Sampai Masa Dah Bah!!!!

In Sabah, ada traitor bawa sial.

Same story here as Sarawak lah.. regardless, now our 2 "fixed deposit" states will be the pembangkang. And hopefully the pembangkang will highlight issues that benefit the Sabahans and Sarawakians for the sake of winning them over.

I will sound controversial but I was glad that Sarawak fall under local party. Plus there is now talk of our Chief Minister opting to jump out of BN, dont know if its true though. Can say I am a "Super-nationalist" to the point i prefer local party win the state than west Malaysian party.

While it is good news that there is finally a regime change in Malaysia, we mustn't forget the unique dilemma that Sabah and Sarawak is in. We ABSOLUTELY must get back our rights not just as autonomous states but a lot more other rights we should enjoy but never got to as stated under Malaysian Agreement 1963. Let's hope PH will treat Sabah and Sarawak differently than BN did.

Again, controversial viewpoint. But chill lah i'll be minding my own business making steem in front of my laptop.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95