You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Jar Of Pickled Cactus - (Entry To The Electric Dreams Short Story Contest)

in #electricdreams6 years ago

This is great. I aspire to be able to take the prompts like you do and not do the obvious (i.e. a steampunk story). It's what I struggle with the prompts - I can see the obvious but do not want to play it. I've been told I have a bit of a defiant nature lol Really you did so wonderfully with this story it was an "easy" read, relatable (we all feel this way in our life at times with our work) and so triumphant at the end. She did it all herself, too, without hammering that point it just goes down smooth like the finest edible. Your writing respects your reader's intelligence. Such a fine person you are Calluna!

Sort:  

Thank you! You always have such thoughtful and kind words that mean so much to me <3 I am never sure how much of a solid idea I approach prompt based writing with. I just start writing and the words tend to follow each other. It can take a bit of a push to get back to where a prompt can come in though. A bit of defiance is defiantly a good thing ;) I felt like a change from the more action based stories I have been writing recently, although in some ways, I think this was more the story I needed to hear when I wrote it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75