Outages and more outages

zirjrqas3n.jpg

Can you believe it, but I had another outage last night. It wasn't a scheduled one either so most likely a cable theft again. The last one we had on Wednesday was a cable theft at a sub station so I imagine this was a repeat performance. We all know how it works as contractors are in cahoots and are just stealing and reselling the same stuff over and over again.

I always try and stay consistent by doing two posts a day and this is starting to knock me a little. Each time I have had posts ready and bang there goes the power. I have a back up plan for later down the road and I am not to bothered about this now , it is just irritating. I just have to have two posts stashed away ahead of time each day.

I don't see an end to this as services have totally gone in this country. It is time to sort your self out or leave. The choice is quite simple and I am not ready on the leave front right now.I am hoping things improve, but that is hugely optimistic and just can't see it. Very sad as the country is beautiful and has so much to offer.

I think it never really bothered me that much as I am a fairly laid back sort of person. Once it affects my Steem though it starts to get me going.I have been here officially for one year now and the only days missed are when my services such as electricity or the internet have been disrupted. I have kept a record now and have lost around 11 days in total which is a sizable chunk for one year.

We are going into winter soon and can see more interruptions and the Solar that is planned can't come soon enough. The cost of the package is around $8000 and it will take the house totally off the grid with excess electricity to spare. I think it's a bargain considering the price of the electricity today and will be saving after about the 30 th month. This will leave another 90 months before the batteries may need replacing ,so no more candles very soon.

Image source city-press.news24.com

Sort:  

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! What a freaking hassle but what a great investment the solar will be and what a blessing. I wish you didn't have to stay there though.

Me too. Maybe something will happen that will let me move. I have an open mind and nothing is set in stone. I am not overly happy here and know the quality of life is not the best and is better elsewhere. The weather is great and that is it. Unfortunately the country has gone down hill rapidly and the ones that are living it don't seem to realize and most of them have no choice, but to suck it up.

Sir cryptoandcoffee are there lots of people leaving the country for good? It seems like lots of people with means would be leaving.

They've surprisingly left us alone in the recent weeks. After the privilege of all farmers in the area being promoted to stage 4! We're scrambling to get our solar fixed (it packed up last year). But as you said @cryptoandcoffee with services gone we're even struggling to get the inverter serviced and batteries replaced (at huge expense and little success)

I hit some luck as a friend of mine is bringing his first container of Solar kits in and I am paying the cost with transport. This kit contacts the factory in the East daily and they make sure all panels are working etc. I have worked out we will have 30 percent extra with this kit so no need to worry as we will have more than enough.
Services have gone totally and it's who you know and sort yourselves out time. Let me know if you don't come right as I will check what he has regarding inverters and batteries.

Take control, make your own electric, anything else is just an excuse.

Hoping to have it done soon. I am not sure exactly when as it is on it's way. Can't take much more so we will see.

Get in there, nice one.

Which country are you from to experience outage of this kind?

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh - taking matters in your own hands! I think it's wise <3

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Power up on your own? Man you rock!

That is a great price for solar. I hope they can get it all setup for you sometime soon. That is crazy that they are stealing the wires from a substation. I am surprised that no one ends up dead from electrical shock or something like that. I guess if it is the actual workers that are doing it though... I hope things turn around soon there...

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 7.48% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99