{listen} May 2018 Playlist

Where has all the time gone? I'm about a week late on this playlist, but this is down to a few challenges. The last month or so has seen me dedicated to producing a couple of big reviews. This has pretty much been to the detriment of all other music, as evidenced by attempting to listen back to what sounds I've been listening to.

In the end, I've managed to get a pretty awesome and varied bunch of tracks together of current and past favourites.

-> May 2018 Playlist <-

image.png

Deltron 3030 - 3030

image.png

I love how you can do a little roots journey with this hip hop act. Start at Dr. Octagon, and you'll see the comic book tale of the titular character as told by Kool Keith with the assistance of Dan The Automator on beats. Following this, Dan The Automator hooked up with Del The Funky Homosapien, Kid Koala and a minor cameo from Damon Albarn to tell the the sci-fi tales of Deltron 3030. This then culminated in the Tank Girl-esque fictional supergroup spearheaded by Dan, Del and Damon as Gorillaz.

This, from Deltron 3030, is the opening epic. Massive orchestra pulpy science fiction vibes play off against Hawaiian luau.

Fila Brazillia - Feathery Legs

image.png

One of my all time favourite tracks from a much loved act. Feathery Legs shifts through the gears in quite some style. Easy going funk, dropping down into four to the floor, tearing up with emphatic "woo yea!" crowd noise. Absolutely brilliant.

The Orb & Lee 'Scratch' Perry - Africa

image.png

Post Orblivion, The Orb were arguably a bit patchy, the consistency and engagement often faltering. This was a random discovery, an album of dub alternatives with legend Lee 'Scratch' Perry on board. If I were to play a warm up set, I'd be daring enough to drop a few cuts from this in with some chugging house music.

Tornado Wallace feat Sui Zhen - Today (I:Cube Remix)

image.png

Tornado Wallace is an act that I know about, yet don't really have much in terms of listening experience with. I:Cube, however, is someone that I am firmly familiar with. At one point it was looking like they were going to be best known for by being remixed by Daft Punk in imperious form. Recently, I:Cube has provided an absolutely devastating remix for Mei Tahat, and this remix is equally beguiling. It is pastel eighties vibes, light and airy. Props to the excellent beats version that is present on the collection too. May very well have to pick up a physical version of this.

DJ Seinfeld - Sakura

image.png

Far from the deftly under-produced sound he is known for, DJ Seinfeld rocked out a stunning and heavy piece of electro on Or:la's Form & Function. The beats are eked out over the beginning, and then it just rolls it all in. Fantastic.

Juxta Position - Glider

image.png

Juxta Position is the techno alternative of Marquis Hawkes. Fun fact: when interviewing Juxta, I was not allowed to refer to the Marquis Hawkes alias whatsoever, such is the firm divide that the artist wants to draw between the two. Personally, and probably against the grain, I feel that Juxta Position is the most exciting of the two projects. Glider rolls out an ever so slightly electro edged techno groove, but keeps things floaty thanks to DJ Metatron-esque dreamy pads. Definitely one of the best Juxta tracks so far, and was crafted exclusively for Will Saul's Inside Out DJ mix concept.

Rafael Anton Irisarri - Downfall

image.png

Much as I'd love to give you a bunch of insight about this track, my knowledge is nil. Let me just emphasise the benefits of keeping a well maintained saved releases and playlist portfolio in Spotify - the Release Radar algorithm is fantastic at throwing up surprises. This errs towards the otherworldly and frozen in time landscapes of Bibio 'Phantom Brickworks'. No complaints here.

Djrum - Showreel, Pt. 2

image.png

Fantastic release on R&S by Djrum. One of those artists that can waver between the more angular genres at will. Drum'n'bass, dubstep, bass music, orchestral... it is all drawn upon in Showreel. Definitely an artist to go digging through the archives on.

Daphni - Hey Drum

image.png

One thing I have been listening to recently is Daphni's FabricLive mix. Comprised entirely of the Caribou man's own productions under his more dance floor angled alias, it is perfect summer material. Hey Drum stood out for me, an whomping great marching kick, sparse effects, perforated by big retro house chords.

Inland - Sherpa

image.png

Did you miss my big Efdemin review? Obviously, being review material, I spent a long time absorbing the mix. Out of the taut and intricate blend of techno tracks, this track by Inland served as a tension releasing highlight. It's the foamy pads that do it.


image.png

Sort:  

Always upvote I:Cube. Good list.

I always think of Disco Cubism as a few short years ago, where it is waaaay distant now! I:Cube had kind of been parked in my mind until the Mei Tahat remix surfaced.

Shit, I just listened to this on repeat:

I didn't sort this premiere out, but props to the team on picking it up!

I thought for sure based on your love of Sasha that you were going to say I:Cube's remix of Phonique's 99 and A Half. So good, but I would have thought it's heavy hammering by Sasha would have gotten your notice. Mei Tahat is dope though.

Great stuff on here, thank you @fourfourfun!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93