{listen} ##### - ##### / #wednesdayhouse

in #electronicmusic6 years ago (edited)

This post, from @uwelang, recently introduced me to the various weekly themed posting initiatives. You should know that I'm a big fan of bulking out the #electronicmusic tag, and any excuse to get the content rolling on my part and from your good selves is a good one in my mind. Today is Wednesday, and that means we are looking at @andyjaypowell and his #wednesdayhouse tag. You can also fully expect me to show up for Techno Friday and... well, it doesn't exist, but I feel like Ambient Sunday should be a thing!

Click on that hashtag and you'll note that, well, it is a little bit threadbare at the moment. Consider this a call to arms. Bring out your house music on this and every Wednesday. I'm always sifting through the #electronicmusic tag looking for new users and why not use this one as another source of wonderful posters.

Do with the theme what you will, there is enough material out there to keep this bumping on for years to come. Without further ado, my first submission.


"#####" - "#####"

Yeah, you read that right. ##### by #####. Look, proof, here is the store page where I bought it.

I got back into vinyl buying a few years ago having sold my original collection in order to buy a house. One of the first releases I came across that wowed me was this. The information was minimal.

Released on a record label called "No Label" and simply titled ##### '#####', the only distinguishing features were its plain yellow and blue labels. After digging and checking the etching in the run out groove, it transpired that this was a special edit release with Netherlands based artists Aroy Dee handling the yellow side and Ma Spaventi on the blue. They took to task Design-a-Wave 'Weird F', turning its morose funeral parlour vibes into an introverted and bumping house cut.

My nod always went to Aroy's edit, I prefer where the chords sit on the beat and it kept it really simple with razor edged percussion slicing through the dewy pads.

Luckily, this track is much easier to Google nowadays...


image.png

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09