3D Printer Review: Monoprice 3D V2

in #electronics6 years ago

Hey guys!
I hope you have been having a good week - I certainly have. My 2nd 3D Printer arrived in the mail a few days ago. Over the past few days, I have gotten to test out the Monoprice 3D V2 Printer.

20180109_130253.jpg

Pros
It features a nice 8in x 8in (200mm x 200mm) build area, with a heated bed platform. It can print both PLA and ABS, and Although I havent tested its ABS its PLA comes out pretty nicely.

The price is unbeatable. At $300, for this quality, this is a steal.

Another great feature of this printer is its ease of access. It was fairly easy to set up (besides the bed leveling - that took FOREVER), and its menu system makes it easy to select prints, adjust stepper motor positions, or heat the bed to custom temperatures.

Cons
Even though I bought this printer from the monoprice website - they somehow failed to send me a spool holder (which was no problem, I 3D printed it).
Also, even though I bought this printer supposedly new it came with clear evidence of having been printed on. The nozzle was jammed with someone elses filament, and a design was already printed onto the heating bed. While this is not exactly a con about this printer in general, it was disappointing. Luckily, the printer worked without a hitch so I decided to keep it - (Im a minimalist, if it works thats good enough for me :) - another possible con is the print quality. You can get much better quality with other machines on the market. However, considering this printers price ($300), the quality is outstanding and surpasses anything else near this price.

I printed out a few sample prints which turned out decently -

20180109_130214.jpg

However, this print was not so successful -

Overhangs can also be a problem -

But now I compensate by printing upside down.

Since I use Arduino - I designed a special board for circuit and sensor testing. Its cleaner and neater than everything being a mess of wires and sensors sprawling over the ground.

20180109_130144.jpg!

Then I 3D Printed a basic rover chassis, which turned out ok (A little rough around the edges).

Overall, considering its price, I would give this printer 4/5 stars. Its effective, easy to work with, has a large build area, and suits my needs perfectly (as a robotics enthusiast.) There are many printers out there that can print a better quality, but nothing around this price range even comes close to the Monoprice 3D V2.

I would recommend this printer to those who either are new to 3D Printing or those who dont want to spend to much but still want to get a bang for their buck.

Sort:  

Well if the manufacturer is serious about quality they do a test print with every printer. That's why your printer probably wasn't completely unused. The price is impressive. How about getting replacements for a nozzle? Nozzle wears out after about 300-500 hours and quality drops can you purchase standard nozzles or do they provide specific ones that are then expensive ?

Ah I didnt know that! Makes me feel a little bit better about it having the test print i guess.
Ive looked into getting replacement nozzles and I found some for $19 on amazon (not that bad).
I think i have to purchase that specific nozzle - but ill look into what is compatible with it.
Thanks!

yea that's a good price, my first printer had a special one that was 80 Euros and I had to get one every 2-3 months...currently on my UM2+ its 7 Euro per nozzle.

Thats pricey - how much was the printer? Does it print good quality?

Well my first one was 2000 euro but totally shit. After that I got a Ultimaker 2 and this one is amazing. It is as well expensive but also real reliable.

Ultimaker 2 - I've heard good things about that one. That may be my next printer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69121.30
ETH 3739.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75