"Grumpy crab" watercolor painting with steps

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180808_191703_914.jpg

Heat wave makes me grumpy

So, I don't know what it's like in other parts of the world, but here in Central Europe we are nearing the end of 2 weeks of a heat wave with over 30°C each day. As I'm a freelancer working from home with no air conditioning, I tend to swim in my own sweat while working these days. Even drawing becomes exhausting!
And I also see it in my subjects: I'm drawing intuitively, so I never really know what will be the result on the paper, when I start painting.
This time it seems to be a self portrait. This grumpy crab has a very similar facial expression to mine. Please, let this heat end soon!

I'll show you some steps of this drawing:

First I did a pencil sketch
IMG_20180801_164605.jpg

Then I painted the background blue
IMG_20180801_165616.jpg

I added green and painted the eyes
IMG_20180801_170226.jpg

After it dried I painted the crab's body with different shades of orange, red and pink
IMG_20180808_124536.jpg

I added some shadows with darker orange and red on the body and black on the background
IMG_20180808_154741.jpg

And finally I drew the outlines in black fineliner, added some plants and fish and mussels. In the end I used white pencil for the highlights on the body, a white gel pen for the eyes and darkened the shadows with a black pencil
IMG_20180808_172938.jpg

Thanks for watching and thanks for your support!

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Great painting! Really like the colors and expression :D

Thank you so much :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks a lot for your support!

He he he, so cool, it's funny and very well painted, congrats a very original work.

Thanks a lot :-)

I really love the colors and his facial expression! Hope you're able to cool off soon!!

Thank you! I hope so too... They say it's going to rain tomorrow - finally!

It's really nice! I love watercolor a lot and it was interesting to see the process!

Thank you 😊

Congratulations @almarlene! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very cute ! I love his expression and I kind of feel like him, most days XD Great colours, also <3 And the step by step is nicely presented <3

Thank you! I'll try to do more step-by-steps. Often I forget to take photos while painting though. I don't want to interrupt the flow 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94