Medusa is looking (watercolor painting with step by step process)

in #elegance6 years ago

Medusa guckt-n_kl.jpg

Medusa is looking

For the competition "YOUR FAVORITE MYTHICAL CHARACTER" by @miss.dara I created this Medusa.
Actually I first had to find out which was my favorite mythical character, to which I felt a connection to. Turns out I like strong female characters with special superpowers- Medusa can turn anyone to stone by looking at them. How I chose to portray her (staring at male genitalia) probably has some deep psychological meaning, saying lots about me. I can't explain it though - it just flowed out of me.
I hope you don't find it too disturbing (although lots of mythical creatures just are...). If you like it, please upvote and resteem :-)
Thanks for watching!

Here is the step by step process:
IMG_20180824_122519.jpg
IMG_20180824_125807.jpg
IMG_20180824_132106.jpg
IMG_20180824_141356.jpg
IMG_20180824_144228.jpg
IMG_20180824_174758.jpg
IMG_20180824_193111.jpg
IMG_20180824_210013.jpg

And there is me holding it :-) I think this was actually the watercolor I painted on the longest, although it's quite tiny (about Din A5)...
IMG_20180825_135328.jpg

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

I just love this art,
I stared at it for over a minute.

I love the way you blended the colours together.
This is a fine piece.

curated by jacobite

Thank you so much! It makes me really happy to hear you could look at it for so long :-)

Really nice art and I loved the step by step process as it helped to visualize how you have made such an amazing art. Though as far as I know Medusa was a monster, but the face out here looks innocent :)

Well, there are a couple of different stories. According to Ovid, Medusa was a beautiful maiden who was raped by Poseidon, after which the jealous Athena turned her into a monster. So Medusa is like an innocent monster ;-)

Ohh nice to know, thanks :)

Hi almarlene,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Awesome, thank you so much!

I think that it exudes calm more than anything. The pose that you have for the face reminds me of some of the Hindu goddesses especially the shameful eyes.

This is a very interesting way to see it. Thank you for sharing your perspective!
I often don't know why I paint something the way I do. I paint my feelings, and often I only understand them afterwards...

It's just the first impression that I got from it. As they say arts speak to everybody differently and I like what yours says to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello very well done if i should choose a favorite mythical character medusa will probably be in my top 3. I found it so funny that you draw her looking at a men's genitals:D

Congratulations @almarlene! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That's quite scary but not really disturbing. Actually, the more I look at it, the less scary it looks.

I like your choice of colors, you actually did a great job making the painting look this nice..

Thanks a lot! 😊

I like your combination of colors. They bring life to the painting. Though, I just find the snakes too long, two even reaching around the male's hips? Also, there are only few snakes which make me imagine medusa's head is not fully covered and there could be bald parts. Maybe you can consider these next time. Or maybe it is just my not so trained eyes talking? 😊

Thanks for your input! Yeah, those are some long snakes ;-)

You're welcome. 😊

howdy from Texas almarlene! well this painting is striking to say the least! haha! It is possibly the most unusual one I've seen this year and very memorable with the subject material but also the colors which create such a powerful contrast. Showing the process is fascinating!
Do you teach others how to paint or draw?

Thank you very much! I've taught kids and grown-ups how to do fluid painting and light painting (in photography) so far. No technical aspects of drawing yet. But what I intend to do is offering courses for intuitive painting, understanding one's feelings by being creative, becoming more courageous in life 😊

oh well howdy there almarlene! that sounds very interesting indeed, and those courses can be taught online?

So far I taught them offline, but hope to create online courses in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59