If you had to be a bird or a fish, which would you be?

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

I like to ask my friends stupid questions more often than not, especially when they’re in the middle of focusing on a life or death situation… well maybe not to that extent, or when I’ve found them neck deep in a problem solving scenario and they’re styling a full set of blinkers.


I find it either pulls them out of their funk and they thoroughly enjoy pondering the perplexities of the possibilities, ooor they tell me to shoosh and why don’t I try answering one of my own questions for a change. I tend not to answer them because it’s not so black and white as I’ve laid it out. For instance, if you had to be a bird or a fish, what would you be?

If the question tantalises the imagination I’m usually hit with an onslaught of questions like, what sort of bird, can I fly, a big bird or a small bird, am I more like a majestic eagle, oh am I a baby chicken cause I don’t want to be a baby chicken although they’re pretty cute. Hmm but a fish? What kind of fish, am I like a barramundi in the wild, or someone’s pet gold fish, or am I more like a deep-sea marlin, maybe I could be a poisonous lion fish?

Wow has this simple pre-emptive question become a complex web of choices to make. I usually don’t set any parameters, the choice is at their full discretion accounting for all scenarios at their leisurely pleasure. About ninety percent choose bird, I always ask why, and the answer is because they can fly. So, the flying bird takes the cake, and yes, it is usually something like an eagle. I don’t blame such a choice, imagine the world from a bird’s eye view, not just the x plain at your whim but the y and z plains too! Plus, eagles look pretty shmicko, those powerful talons! No one ever chooses a dodo though.

I’m going to attempt to answer my own question here; fish I choose fish… aaand bird together at the same time, a flying fish? That’s a thing! I dislike limitations. Think about being a fish for a second, all that unexplored domain flowing past your glittery gills, look how you’ve immediately gained the super power to breathe under water too, what was that, did you just see a mermaid!? Naaah it’s just your fishy upside-down eyes playing watering tricks on you. You could explore the crevices of every single sunken warship, fleet, navy vessel, pirate boat... ship, or catamaran for their lost treasures and nik-naks. Float on through Atlantis and live among a coral encrusted reef city of surface-scraping proportions. You still have access to x, y and z plains but in a denser form, plus you probably glow in the dark or communicate with some intelligent photophore flash card system. In an ironic way I am already a fish, I’m what they call ‘plankton’ here in this Steemit world, perhaps more like plankton offspring, I wonder how plankton reproduce.

So if you’re still with me, to celebrate this conundrum, I’ve whipped up some fitting artwork to take your mind on a journey of possibilities and choice. Given, dolphins are not fish but they are like the eagle of the fish world.

Have you thought about what you’d be, a bird or a fish?

** Stuffed chicken or stuffed fish

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

My daughters like to ask me questions like that. I get exhausted just thinking about it and frustrated that I can only choose one or have to choose one. I think I'll have to take a leaf out of your book and go for both.

I love the dolphin picture. Always had a thing for dolphins. There's something aesthetically pleasing about their shape.

Oh yeah if you can’t choose just go both, there’s always an option C, thank you, they are so streamlined whooosh

I'd be an Eagle. Best vision of all the birds being able to single out a rabbit at some 3 kilometres or more. They can also zoom in and see a wider range of colours than humans. Plus, all that flying and freedom...Awesome.

They are like the super heroes of the feathery kingdom, awesome wing spread too, their eyes are almost more evolved than the more common strain of bird. Awesome creature

I like the best of both worlds. Maybe something like a kingfisher or egret. They don't soar as high as some birds, or swim as deep as some fish, but they're living on the edge. Not a penguin though. Too formal.

Ooo a kingfisher would be interesting, pretty unique too, nice choice :)
As a penguin you’d be on duty all the time, too stressful

I'd rather stay a bird. You get to poo on parking inspectors and screech at tired parents really early in the morning during school holidays.
Also I don't know what a fish is.

Hahaa you just keep being the trouble makin’ bird you are :) no need for fish here

Is that what they call creature comforts :P

You got a 27.98% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @stuffing!

Love your artwork as usual and if I must be in on the action I would surely like to be a Flyssowary Fin. A flight enabled Cassowary that can also swim. Not to be trifled on land, can sightsee from above and swim when I feel like it. Is that too much?

Whaaat that’s amazing this bird I never knew of, perfect choice triple thumbs up :D

ohhh its so beautiful work , lovely !! <3

that is a beautiful piece, @stuffing . "Churning of thoughts" comes to my mind :)
And an awesome write-up.
I like the freedom of a bird flying to unknown places, without visa or passport. The traveller :) :)

Hi nehab! Aaah to fly free with no gates or checks, that would feel truly amazing, good choice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95