How to embed Youtube videos on Steemit so it adds views to the video

in #embed6 years ago

I was watching the HardFork trailer for the second time today and thought it would be a good opportunity to share it around on various subreddits to give it and Steemit some attention when I noticed the view count was surprisingly low on Youtube.

I quickly checked the post and it had made over 2,000 views so it seemed weird that the video only had over 300. Then I remembered something a friend of mine told me a long time ago on Steemit about youtube embedding.

Basically, when you are embedding your youtube video onto your Steemit post, don't copy it from here:

and don't copy it from here either:

instead, click on "embed" in the second image and copy this code instead:

This should still generate the views even though you are only viewing it through the Steemit post.
Having said that, I haven't tried this in months, but I figured right now would be a good opportunity to test it out and at the same time give the video some more deserved views through my followers as well.

I'll refrain from sharing it onto other places for now to see if this actually works, so if you haven't watched it yet, check it out! It's really well made and I can't wait to see the rest of it! :)


Make sure to also follow @hardfork-series and support them along the way!


Sort:  

Thank you very much for this tip. I had no idea it mattered how you add video to your posts.

Feels good to be one of the first to upvote before it has gotten out of hand :) By the way, thanks for the Tip, I had no idea about that. I used to do it the wrong way all this time...

I've been letting curators front-run me for months to increase curation rewards for them. :)

if we vote 20min later we get 20-25 % curator reward ...is this true??

You have always been a generous people's person mate, thank you :). BTW @acidyo, a bit off topic, have you checked steemit.chat? I had a question for you.

Oh yeah, get spammed a lot there so miss them easy, will check in the morning!

@acidyo, I always try to write to you only when I have good quality content that I want feed back on :). I hate spamming people and I apologize if I have ever spammed you. That's why I post only when I am sure it will be good stuff. And now I just posted a Biography about my best friend who has an amazing transformation. It is an original story and it will inspire you :)) I will be really happy if you check it out and maybe expose it to any other content curators

Wow - I had no idea people send links to other people for posts in chat. Very interesting marketing strategy. I'm still not planning to chat but good to know something goes on in there besides fighting. This post is a goldmine of information today.

They have special channels for promotions only :)

Oh! I see. I'm using fb groups and twitter for that, I guess :)

Thank you so much! I have a youtube channel of 14k subscribers and I was wondering why on earth videos here are not watched.
However, I believe that steemit is not meants for videos. People don't really watch it (Maybe?)
I personally have shared videos but I prefer to read than watch here on steemit. Maybe it is the way the platform is designed, I can't give an explanation. I just "feel" it!

It seems people here prefer reading to watching videos, I've also noticed that. However, this is a growing platform and I believe as more people join that might change.

I know people have watched mine since they ask me details on occasion. I'm only putting videos here that are under two minutes and I am sure to mention that before they even get the the play button or I get (bs) comments how people are saving them to watch later - not :)

Wait, what? It doesn't give views if someone watches it with either the share url or direct link? I had no idea, that's kind of lame. Thanks for the heads up, dude.

This is nice to know. Thanks for sharing

it gives views, but retension of viewers is super low and it will not bring great search results from youtube, yes u will receive views , but search rankings will be bad.

Embedding option is great. One more thing I want to add here. It will increase your visibility both in youtube as well as in google. In simple terms, the more you embedded that video the higher you get rank in google and youtube.

That's a very handy, well-timed tip! I'm about to start posting some videos, so now I know the right way to do it from the beginning! Thanks so much for sharing!

Watched it and oh my goodness! The quirks of steemit! I am most definitely linking my videos here and want those views. Thank you so much for this help. I will change my ways immediately.

That's really cool, never thought that an youtube video couldn't get views unless properly embeded. I am curios if you know a method to embed images that allows readers to click on them and make them larger. I've struggled to find a way to do that. Cheers

No, you can't do what you want. That requires a script to run to pop out the image. And you cannot embed scripts in you posts.

You can create a link to the larger picture. So, if someone clicks on it, they will go to a page, that is the larger picture.


< A href="www.mypicture.com/picture.jpg">
< img src="www.mypicture.com/picture.jpg" />
< /A>

In steemit com the picture gets sized to 672 px wide.
If they click on the picture, they will go to mypicture com and view the full picture size.

Thanks for the clarification man, it was super useful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86