Back and With a Change

in #employment6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys,

A coupled months have gone by with very little activity on my side. As I said, it is mainly because I was busy working on my thesis and looking for a job. I submitted my thesis about a month ago, and now I have found a project to work on. Regarding my thesis, I am expecting to receive my results about two weeks from now (crossing fingers). Regarding my job, it is not formal employment but it is an amazing opportunity. I want to talk to you about this.

When it comes to job hunting, I have some variables on my side, and some against me. On my side, I have a science graduate degree and a science postgraduate degree, both from amazing universities. In addition, I have experience doing research in academia and I have professional experience in software development. Nevertheless, not everything is on my side. My studies and professional experiences have taken me to two different countries where I have been an immigrant. I had been looking for employment in these two countries as well as in my own. I put a lot more focus on the two other countries though. In these two countries, I face extra steps and complications to obtain some form of employment. In the country where I used to study and work, right now it is pretty much impossible to be sponsored a work visa unless it is for some executive position. In the country where I am currently studying, very few employers provide sponsorship to international students in order to transfer from a student visa into a work visa. These variables combined have made the process quite hard.

I have applied to many positions, and gotten some interviews. Nevertheless, a lot of companies take a step back once they know I need sponsorship. The ones that are willing to sponsor you need an excuse to do so. The excuse usually comes in the form of "This guy that needs sponsorship is way better than the others". Even though I am confident on my skills and capabilities, I have not found this excuse yet.

Long story short, one of my friends from my courses reached out to me and asked for my help. He said he could use my knowledge in mathematics and computer science. This help is regarding his thesis and if we find something significant, this could turn into something much bigger than just a thesis. Of course he cannot pay me like a formal employer would, but he would make sure I have a place to stay at and food on my plate. My student visa is not expiring for a while which would allow me to work on his thesis for the university at least until it expires.

At this point, I have a couple of interviews lined up, but my heart is telling me to work on this project with my friend and give it my all. Most company success stories start with very little cash in someone's shitty garage. The ideas we have are big, and even though we are a small group, we are a smart, dedicated, and proficient one. I believe this could be my chance to work on something that could turn out to be my own. Everyone's dream is to drop everything and dedicate their time to a project that is their own and that would provide to live well enough. Of course this idea is in diapers and chances are against us. But you miss all the shots you don't take.

For now, I have started working with my friend. Who knows what will happen, but I will definitely try. I'll keep you updated. Wish me luck.

Since now I will be dedicating to this project most of my time, most of my publications will change in subjects. Most likely, I will be publishing opinions regarding financial markets or tendencies.

Best,

@capatazche

Sort:  

Good luck to you and your friend! Take your shots while you are young :) The advice I have for you is two fold 1) continue to try and network while you are working with your friend. Keep your ears open for people hiring or starting projects you are interested in. Get involved with meet-ups in your areas of interest. 2) while working on projects try to be increasing your skill set or experience. Offer to help in a way that you are also learning. Like maybe pick up a new programming language or gain some real world experience in something you have only academic knowledge in.

Thank you for your advice and good wishes. I'll definitely take it into account. Regarding working on my skills, I will be definitely learning. I will be learning more about Natural Language Processing.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 15.31% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28