"What We Believe"

t4epltokq3.jpg

Spirits soaring, despite circumstances,
Knowing peace inside cannot be

Breached.

Loving each other, taking our chances,
Betting that every heart, can be

Reached.

The world outside, is exactly that,
It is only the shadows that we

Perceive.

We make our world as we go,
Our Hopes, our Goals; what we

Believe

“What We Believe”

by
Jerry E Smith
©8/7/16
Ring Billed Gull




These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks


This .gif was created by @elgeko


</center

Sort:  

I like the way you put that poem together!

Why thank you so very much @scribblingramma, I appreciate that.
I need to get off my butt and start writing some new material, but
I am facing yet another move (to a new apartment this time) so
I imagine I will be in no frame of mind for it anytime soon.

Oh dear, that means the four-letter-words will attack you: pack, sort, sell, move.

You know you right. :( This time, I'll bite the bullet and hire someone to do as much of that
For me as possible, but yes, I've needed to downsize for a long time, especially
Clothing. I've got more shirts than any one white boy ever needed
Ha ha ha... being in Music Performing, I was/am always
Looking for brightly colored shirts for when
I perform in the Senior Living places.
Try to cheer things up, don't
You know? ha ha..
elephant nose-mustache.gif

Hmmm, I play the piano at a local assisted living facility about twice a month, and I usually try to dress in colorful or "interesting" clothing. Your act looks much more entertaining than mine, however.

My "show" has been evolving since I started in 2010, my material has
Increased and decreased, songs that were what I thought they'd like
At first (and many did) are now too old; many of the audiences are
Not much older than me, so songs I like have become what
They like too, in most cases. The fact that I can walk around and
Interact with them is one of my biggest advantages.
Thank you @scribblingramma. I'm sure your act
Is quite good as well, since a good heart and a
Willingness to share and 'act the fool' is
What is important, to bring some
Light and happiness to them.

I have been playing the piano at this assisted living facility for about 8 years. There has been a tremendous turnover of occupants; only 4 remain from when I started going there. At most, the place only can accommodate about 20 patients. Many of them are quite infirm and few of them ever interact with me. I, too, have had to update my repertoire due to the shifting age bracket of my "audience." Now and then someone will come and sit near the piano and visit with me, and help me select songs to play, but the one lady who most recently did that had to move to another facility. I miss the input!

Yes, that interaction is all important. My niece and I performed this afternoon
At a "Skilled Care" where many if not most of the residents are in wheelchairs
Barely reactive, but we got most of them livened up. I have a few videos
I'm going to upload to Dtube as soon as I get time, then you can see
What I do. Wed and today are the first times in a long time she
Has come along (she sings a nice alto, and plays the flute
Quite well, which was a nice diversion from my usual
Playlist. Thanks @scribblingramma

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94