Fighting with Smartplugs :)

in #energy6 years ago

As you might already have read in my previous post about our solar panels we got on our roof last week, yesterday arrived our smart-station "Wendy".

Wendy is a device on which you can connect different devices to, like your boiler, solar panels and smart lights. I made a joke about it to our neighbour, her name is Wendy, that I had mounted her on our wall :)
Wendy is expandable with different kinds of things like a connection to your DSM (Dutch Smart Meter), it's a smart meter from the electrical company with a connector for a cable, this cable you can plug into the Wendy and it will read your power consumption. Funny to see that these day's we are only giving back to the company in stead of using a lot of electricity.

Line-Break.png


The Dutch Smart Meter

To get the information from the boiler you have to connect a DB2 module between the boiler and thermostat of the heating.

It also directly powers the display which is mounted on the wall...

Line-Break.png

So when I got the module working, the DSM connected and the display mounted on the wall I got to get busy with the smartlights..


You have to enter all lights seperate through with a wizard which search for Zigbee enabled interfaces. I thought it was just that, but in real you have to enter all commands for the devices. It was quiet some work :)


After I entered 4 lights it was time to configure them, but when I was starting configuring I realized that it's better to do that at night when it's dark, so you can see how the lights look.

I must say it's a great device to see everything about using energy and gas, I hope we get even more aware then we already are.

Have a great sunny day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Peter what does your wife think off Wendy and Flexi in the house. Three is a crowd they say 😂😂😂

hahaha, she had her doubts, that's for sure :P

This is really cool. It makes me want to save up the money to put some panels on my garage roof. I think I would get enough direct sunlight there to actually make a difference. Does the power company give you a credit for the energy you put back into the grid?

yes they do, I'm not sure yet the netto amount but it will be somewhere between 0,10 eurocent and 0.13 eurocent per KWH. Today we used about 1 KWh and we delivered back to the grid about 22 , so it's a nice thing :)

Wow, that is pretty awesome!

Nice system. This is WiFi Router.

No it is not a WiFi router, it is home control system for lights, electricity and temperture :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77