You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Good morning/afternoon, @abh12345.

Thanks for the leagues, and thank you for giving us new challenges and new opportunities to engage.

Thank you, @curie for the ongoing sponsorship. I can't speak for everyone, but I do believe that all of us are appreciative of you all's involvement and desires to see engagement flourish on the STEEM platform.

Congratutlations to @janton for consecutive win No. 8. It's tough to find new superlatives. You've taken on all challengers and now even a category change and made it through with plenty of room to spare. Well done, sir!

@veryspider—amazing amount of different people spoken to during the week. You've set the bar. Now it's up to the rest of us to try to chase it.

@ecoinstant, @lynncoyle1, @cicisaja, @bengy, @hananali, @gillianpearce, @funbobby51—congratulations on making it or remaining in the Top 10. And just what are we calling the No. 7 place winner now? Lucky No. 7? Well done.

@smithlabs, @headchange, @bashadow, @steevc, @blazing, @denmarkguy, @teutonium, @tarazkp, @anouk.nox, @nomadicsoul, @artgirl, @chireerocks, @crypto-econom1st, and @brittandjosie—congratulations to all of you as well. You all made the Top 25. You should all consider that as no small feat. Well done.

Onward and upward. :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention. I am pretty excited to even make the list. I love the league because I can challenge myself each week to do a bit more. This has to be one of the best projects on the platform. Everyone trying to up their numbers each week has to have an impact on the platform as a whole.
This was actually a pretty ingenious idea. Just think of how everyone on this list is expanding their circle each week and reaching more and more people. Maybe adding that new column to the scores will even increase that.

Oh, I believe it will dramatically, especially if people want to stay in the Top 10 each week. Regardless of the leagues, the more we can reach out, the better. :)

I concur with everything else you've said. It is one of the best projects, it is great for the platform, and we just need to get more and more people involved.

We should organize a go for the green week to promote the league. I know I need to spread the word more than I do. Never know when one of us will stumble upon another top five contender. I am sure they are out there just not getting counted yet.

I think Asher signed up quite a few after the total CL list he came up with, I think it was only last week still. He published two last week, so that's confusing me at the moment. :)

What he probably needs to do is run a list of the top 50 who have commented with unique users over a week's period of time. That would probably draw more of those folks out. Not sure if that query is possible, since he was having us do that individually last week, too. :)

Thanks! A completely unexpected placing this week!

Hey, @bengy. That's what happens when a category gets added to the engagement list results! You never know what's going to happen from one week to the next anyway, but even more so when there's something else to keep in mind. I think it's good, though. Helps us to get out there more, and hopefully engaging with folks in meaningful ways in the process.

I only just realised there was a new category! But in the end it doesn't really affect the way I Steem, just a nice surprise when I manage a decent placement! Also, interesting to see the statistics.

That's probably the best way to go about, @bengy. If you have a way of doing things that is working for you, there's no reason to change it. In my case, I've been trying to re-evaluate what I've been doing, so this change comes in the middle of that. Not sure what all will come of any tweaking, but I'm hoping to not only show up on this list, but the curation one as well. I've fallen off of it for weeks. :)

Thanks! Yeah it's my first time to get that 1 Steem for no self-upvote. 😂

Well, STEEM is STEEM, right? We all start somewhere. Regardless, the engagement league reminds us to engage, and if we're doing that, I think we're on the right track for us and STEEM. So, today it's an award for no self-upvote. Next week, who knows. Asher changes something else, and it's anyone's game. :)

Thank you @glenalbrethsen ! Have a great day!

Well, you're welcome, and I wish you a good day and week, too. Never seems like there's ever enough time to get to everything, but hey. We just keep trying, don't we? :)

Lol that's absolutely true! But it would be even more exhausting if the days had 36 hours in it, I guess.. so maybe it's better like this :)

Oh, probably wouldn't want that many more, but maybe four hours? Yeah, that probably wouldn't work, because the next thing you know I'd be asking for six, and that still wouldn't be enough. Guess it's a good thing it doesn't matter either way, right? I am not the time master. :)

Dear Glen,
Thank you very much, an achievement with alot off joy. I am in My 8 month here and never expected it to be so great. Planning to stay here for a while. And congrats to you too well done👍

Well, that's good to hear. The engagement league has kept me going, that's for sure. I'm pretty much in my eighth month, too, and I marvel that I'm still here and I also wonder what i would do without it. :) I guess somewhere in the middle would be a good place to be. I'm glad you're happy with what you're doing. Any major ideas or plans in the works?

Just keeping steady and be as divers as possible seems to be the plan for the next 4 months and than I Will See what I have to Change and invest

Sounds like a good plan to me. Consistency and diversity, evaluate, change if necessary and grow. The specifics of what and how and when reveal themselves, right? It's probably not always as simple as I just described it. I'm just liking the plan. No need to overthink when you can work it on the fly and only change things if they're not going in the direction you'd like them to go.

Thank you for the inspiration @glenalbrethsen , getting appreciation from a top steemian is no small feat either. Keep supporting and appreciating and above everything keep writing all those millions of words you are writing. Your stats were clearly very impressive. And true that, Onward and upward :)

You say so. I'm putting in the time, mostly. Without it, I couldn't do what I've been doing. And my wife would rather I did something else, anyway. :)

That's the thing, putting a lot of time . For people that's the toughest part, this is waht i was discussing with @janton on that other post, people are not patient enough to stay on steemit and the retention rate is only 6% out of the people who join in here. people need to learn to give it more time and they will get to the required spot too.

Retention is low, and while some of it is patience, it's an uphill climb, much steeper than it needs to be. I don't know if it has to be effortless, but it could be lots of effort and greater reward. Waiting for STEEM to go back up seems to be most people's plan for success here and that's hardly something any of us control.

I'm afraid what's biting into the retention now is are all the folks who are waiting weeks to get approved, and then forgetting they even have an account or getting fed up with the fact that it took so long. We've got folks that don't even get to the "patience" part. :)

Did you know I actually have big feet. I really have size EU 50. How did you know that?

I think it should be easier to beat Janton now. Although it would be nice if he makes it up to 10 consecutive wins. 8 seemed already impossible, but he's just terrific!

Yeah, very funny. Feat and feet. Nice play on words. I don't even know what a size EU 50 is. Size 50 here would put you into Godzilla-sized shoes, I think. :)

It could be easier. Depends on what janton does, though. As for him winning 10, as long as he's out there earning it each week, no problem. I wouldn't characterize it as nice, though. I mean, I think he's cool, too, but I'm not rooting for him over anyone else, including me. :)

I'm quite certain that's US size 15.

Do you also measure my lent like 6 feet 8"?

I suppose so. I mean, I guess if you're something like 2.03 meters, that would work out to 6' 8". Not trying to stereotype, but did you or do you play any sports? Basketball or rugby maybe? I'd say American Football but that seems more unlikely. You'd be pretty big for a soccer player.

BMX
Volleyball
Table tennis

That's about it

Well, volleyball is definitely a good sport for tall people, especially if you can jump and spike. Table tennis is interesting, but imagine long arms help. BMX I'm not familiar with enough to say how height affects it, but I'm sure it's fun. :)

Hi Glen, thanks for the shoutout! The leagues are definitely an important part of Steemit, and a great way to encourage those who come here with genuine aspirations to "build something."

I only added myself four weeks ago... because I was curious to see how "significant" what I've already been doing for the past year and a half would be, in the group like this; I'm definitely "quietly pleased with myself" that my efforts place me in the top-25.

Hey, @denmarkguy. It's a good "quietly pleased with yourself" to be. And also a good feeling to know that you've been going about it in good fashion, too. Even if you are pretty sure of the way forward, it's nice to have confirmation of it at some point, as well as to see how you might be doing or not doing, based on some benchmarks.

I wish I'd come across the leagues much sooner, or been smarter about it to begin with. I think it would have saved me some ranting and disappointment. Or maybe not. Those things seem to be inherent on STEEM anyway. :)

Thanks for the roll-call Glen, I'm sorry about the tardy replies here this last week. It won't happen again :)

Congratulations on your prize!

Hey, @abh12345.

When I saw this, I thought, Uh, I didn't do a roll call this time. :) I went to the new engagement post first and commented and have been working my way up through the replies I have since Saturday night. So, It took me a second to realize this was from last week and that's where the tardiness was coming from, too :)

I know you're being courteous, and I'm glad for it, but you don't have to worry about answering a week old comment unless you really, really want to. :) No worries on my end.

I do have a couple of questions about how things work with the engagement league data collecting, though, if you don't mind. I know, here I go again. :)

  • The first has to do with the pull period. I've asked this before but it was mainly about when it was pulled, rather than the date range or period for which it is pulled. The question is, even though you may pull it earlier or later on Sunday, is the period of time of the data request always the same?

In other words, is it always, for just an example, a set period between the time on the previous Sunday through another set time on the following Sunday, or are the times where there may be overlap of some hours each week?

  • The second has to do with CR.

We've talked about where the starting point is on CR, but that was if a comment tree was being instigated or continued. From the top. Say, I posted, someone commented, and I replied. Or someone else posted, I commented and they replied.

What I'm wondering here is, what about if I come in on a conversation that's already two deep but that I wasn't apart of the conversation to begin with. Does my first comment get counted as two deep from the start, or is the way the data is getting pulled discount my initial jump in between two other parties and only start counting after that?

Thanks in advance for any answers you can give me.

This post replies are going on longer than the latest :D

The first has to do with the pull period. I've asked this before but it was mainly about when it was pulled, rather than the date range or period for which it is pulled. The question is, even though you may pull it earlier or later on Sunday, is the period of time of the data request always the same?

7 days back from when I get my sorry backside out of bed. I don't think this matters too much, and the 'random' timing is perhaps more fair as we have people across many time zones. Saying that, 3/4 hours difference each week is unlikely to have a huge effect.

CR > 2

The Post is 0 (depth)
The first reply is 1
The 2nd reply is 2
The 3rd reply is when the points start coming into play.

If you were to jump into a conversation with a reply at depth > 2 then this would give you points.

I hope this helps!

This helps, @abh12345. Thank you. With the first question I'm now wondering if there might be an overlapping period from one week to the next, and if so, if comments within that overlapping period would get counted both weeks. I've never personally experienced that, but was wondering if it is possible. As far as when the data is pulled, that's obviously up to you. I make the choice not to get on Steemit on Sunday, so whatever activity goes on there until the list is pulled is what it is. I just try to seven days worth of work in whatever time I have. :)

There could be overlap if I pulled the data earlier than the previous week, some entries would be counted again.

If it's bugging people then I might change it to cover Sunday to Saturday, I don't think anyone else has mentioned it before :)

Oh, I'm sure no one has. I'm the only one who sits around thinking about these things, so I wouldn't change what you're doing at all. And it was mostly curiosity more than anything on my part. No one has asked or talked to me about any of this. So, no worries, and I do appreciate the answers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67840.19
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26