You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 2019 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement5 years ago

Hey, @abh12345.

So..... You made the changes to the scoring metrics. Were you satisfied with the results?

Since I don't know what you were concerned about or how you hoped to rectify it, I can't really say one way or the other whether it happened or not.

I keep looking at the CL from week to week and wondering what's being said in 100-200 characters, but apparently it's meaningful to someone.

And while I have benefited from steembounty quite a bit, I'd much rather see the conversations from leaguers at the top of comment section than the automated comment. Me flagging it at this point doesn't seem appropriate, nor would it knock it down enough, anyway.

I did upvote @tattodjay's comment so that at least it shows up somewhere near the top, given that he won this week, and legitimately dethroned @janton, even if he's still taking time off.

I'm looking at potentially five days straight to get work done on STEEM, so not only am I hoping to be on the list again (like I finally managed to do this time), I'm planning on top 3. Musing has been pretty lucrative for me the last three months, so I need to figure out how to split time there, and still make comments where the CL shows up.

Haven't managed to strike that balance yet, but at some point, I hope to.

So, here's hoping for a good week for all. Thanks for all you do to make the leagues go. Thank you to @curie for the ongoing sponsorship, and congratulations to everyone who finished in the Top 10. I hope to be up there with you next week.

Onward and upward.

Sort:  

Hi Glen

Were you satisfied with the results?

Reasonably, yes. The standings didn't change too much, the scores compacted nicely, and I think there are now more accounts that come into the running for a top 10/20 place.

And while I have benefited from steembounty quite a bit, I'd much rather see the conversations from leaguers at the top of comment section than the automated comment. Me flagging it at this point doesn't seem appropriate, nor would it knock it down enough, anyway.

Point taken. I do like to support the reply, and make it known to visitors (especially new) , that engaging on the post will hopefully lead to a reward. I understand where you are coming from though. This week the reply got a more votes than recent times. You are the first to mention this though, and I guess I'd be looking at more opinions on the matter. Of course, the only way to make sure the comment isn't at the top of the post is to not request the bounty at all...

Musing has been pretty lucrative for me the last three months, so I need to figure out how to split time there, and still make comments where the CL shows up.

Delighted to hear this, although it is a shame the comments are not counted here. Hopefully the discussed proposal is suitable - I think it is.

Thank you for the questions, and providing an honest point of view on various matters. I appreciate it.

I think the steembounty is a nice gesture along with a good incentive, just like the awards, etc., so no need to remove it unless you want to for other reasons. I'm just seeing it getting the upvotes when it would be nice to see what the winner and others had to say, which means I can do a better job of rewarding that, too. I just can't overcome $0.90 worth of upvotes (yet. :)

As for being the only one to mention it, I'm used to being the oddball. I think there is some upvoting I can do and let the chips fall where they may, while the steembounty can also be compensated.

re: compacted scores

Well, that I certainly did notice, but wasn't sure if that was what you were going for or not. If so, it definitely did happen.

Okay, I will go ahead with my proposal then and see what shakes out. Just need to have a good week to justify it all. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81