You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🏆 The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

I am using the slider, and so it depends on the size of the votes. I usually upvote most comments (a practice I may change, but haven't yet), along with all the posts that I comment on or feel should get my upvote. So, it depends on how high the percentage is. When STEEM is low like this, it gets harder to do. When STEEM was up around $3, I had $0.30 as a maximum vote. Now, it's down to $0.17. So I've lost nearly half with STEEM dropping a little over a $1.

Now would be a pretty good time to buy. I've been thinking about it. It was down to $1.70 something yesterday, but I thought, nah, I'll wait to see if it goes down anymore. Then it rebounded. :)

Well, the threshold has a variance, I believe, and it depends on what STEEM is doing. I've read that it could be as low as .012-0.19, but as I said, I think that's depending on the price of STEEM. $0.022 would be a safer bet. I've been dropping at least $0.03 as much as I can just to avoid any more potential variance.

It's obvious that there's a lot of new folks that aren't aware there is a threshold, even though there was a big deal made of it about three or four weeks ago now. That's probably when you heard about it. I know it made the circles I run in quite a bit. But anyone coming in after that, plus those who didn't catch it the first go around are out there leaving $0.01 or less.

I'm on the fence about it still, but there is something called dustsweeper that you might want to check out. It would be good to learn more about it at the very least. It's a bot that's set up to raise upvotes above the threshold on the last day of voting. That way, the votes aren't wasted. It has its own account, so you'd just need to throw the @ sign in front of the name.

Sort:  

I have just checked out the dust sweeper. What a great idea. As soon as I gather the sbd I'll send one over. I really dislike upvoting my own comments and it counts against us in the league table.

You're right, it was about 4 weeks ago that I was told about the .02 cents threshold. Did nobody know about it before this? Seems weird. I didn't know that it fluctuates with the value of Steem though. That makes sense but it would be good if people were aware so they could avoid wastage.

There's me bitching about going from 3 cents to 1 and you have dropped 13! Wow. Not nice. I'm definitely going to add a bit more. I'm at 125 so I need to figure out the next decent level that will make a difference. Whatever that is?

re: next decent level

Well, you can check that out by going to penguinpablo's steemnow.com, as it is one of the places you can find an upvote calculator. Just plug in some numbers in the Steem Power window and see if you can find what makes a difference to you.

re: dropped 13!

Yeah, it's kind of a pain, but it's far worse when you don't have much to begin with, so no worries. I can still do some spreading, just not as much, and it is annoying. :)

re: nobody know about it?

I think the knowledge is around. Tim Cliff, who is a witness, is the one who ignited this last round of posts and comments simply because he was trying to find a solution for spammers. However, it involved raising the dust vote threshold and since the vast majority of us are now newbies, it obviously didn't sit very well. Dustsweeper pretty much came out of that.

The problem is, the information on this and other topics aren't really centrally located unless it shows up in either white or blue papers. I haven't been back through either to see if it is or not, but people said it wasn't there.

I'm sure someone has written about it, or it's appeared in a steemitblog update of some kind, but it would have been over six months and more ago when most of us weren't here.

Brilliant, thanks for that. It's saying that 210 is the number needed to reach 3 cents at 100% so another 85 needed to be purchased. I'll talk to the boss and see what she thinks.

I guess that's the beauty of decentralisation and an open system like this one. There is no clear way of displaying information for everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71