You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Engineering the Infrastructure - City Planning Basic Education

in #engineering6 years ago (edited)
while the sidewalks got narrow and narrow, in some places disappearing completely.

This is very much the case here in my neighborhood in Portugal, and as I enjoy walking, I find it very tricky to get used to it. Even worse, I think it discourages people from going for a stroll!

Preventing social segregation is paramount for the developing of a true future society as it will prevent social bubbles and social ignorance from developing.

Bridging communities should definitely be the way forward, but phenomenon like white flight, often makes me wonder if it will ever be possible.

sorry gym owners, contact me and we will find a way for you to also survive
😂

My vote goes to you @alexdory! But, all jokes aside, I do hope you pursue your council position. Country like your and mine are desperately in need of such initiatives. Otherwise, who knows what the future holds! More polution, congestion, centralization, unaffordable rents?

This is a stunning train of thoughts my dear. Beautiful work :)
Best,

Sort:  

I was in both Lisbon and Barcelona. In Barcelona, the narrow intersections were widened and the city "blocks have the same shape making the intersections feel not as crowded + also acts as a parking while also offering better sight to the drivers. Lisbon was close to Bucharest, way better I would say in terms of traffic, and I have driven around for a few days.


Barcelona ^

It's the first time I hear of white flight. We don't have this here, but we do have Rroma people, so I understand how that is a problem. Maybe that can be fixed too.

I don't know, I have many of my friends signing up in two new parties that are transparent, uncorrupt and made out of professionals (but total amateurs in politics). Some of my former friends are leading some local branches and some of my acquaintances are parliamentarians. The stress they are being put under by the actual government which knows nothing about anything except how to steal, is enormous. They are basically sacrificing themselves.

We will see, I still want to retire from IT and start my own BIO farm in ten or so years. We will see :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61