Learning English is hard

in #english6 years ago

I get this from a lot of people who's first language is not English, that it is hard. But let me ask you a question?

Can you speak another language?

Is that language easy for you?

Then the answer is Yes and No. Yes as it will be hard in the beginning, all languages are. Even the first language you learnt took you a few years to master, and English is no different. And No in that all you need to do is keep practicing, and you will improve and then English will become easy for you.


Now I am a native English speaker, but I learnt Cantonese, which is totally different than English. It is the language of Hong Kong, it has 6 tones, meaning that Foo can have 6 different meanings depending on how it is spoken, and I am tone deaf lol. The plus is the grammar is simple, no tense, no gender and no cases. 

But Cantonese was hard at first, and now I do not need to thing when I speak in it, it becomes natural for me to use.

So you can do it, keep practicing, and make it fun to learn.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80