Embroidery helped me to improve myself

in #english6 years ago

20180320_145148-1.jpg
A little pic from my first embroidery

Hi, dear Steemians! Today I want to talk to you a little bit about one of my favorite activities: embroidery. I commented you already in my presentation post that I love embroidering.

Maybe you're wondering why this is so inspiring for me, and even if you don't believe it, embroidering has been like a medicine to me. See, three years ago I got diagnosticated with ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder), which has been very difficult to me. I remember when I was a little girl, I had difficulties to learn. Concentrating was such a challenge and it's still one. You can't imagine how much can someone with ADHD suffer. In my case, depression, low self-esteem and anxiety were consuming me. I needed to challenge myself somehow and show everyone I was able to achieve something. It was then when I thought about manual arts, but honestly, the idea of having a pencil and a drawings notebook in my hands wouldn't fill me. Of course I love drawing, but I wanted to portray it in a funnier way. I wanted to do something that I never would've thought to do. And that's how the word "embroidery" crossed my mind.

In that moment I got so excited; I finally had an objective. I went to a notions store, I bought the materials I needed and when I got home, I looked for a basic online embroidery course. I surprised myself of how much I learned in less of a week; I was proud of myself. At the beginning I thought it would be something hard, but everything's about patience, persistence and a lot of motivation. That is so, so important.

Embroidery is more than a hobby; it's an escape road and it could be yours too, or your children's. This activity has plenty of benefits. Especially in 5 year-old kids and up. It feeds creativity, and it helps concentrating and reforce mobility. If you suffer stress, anxiety or any other illness that stops you from being calmed, embroidery could help you. You connect to yourself and you get into a incomparable peace atmosphere. And maybe it can change a little your way of thinking.

I hope this post can help some and motivate them to achieve their goals. Nothing's impossible, you just got to trust yourself.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing such a personal and important message! As the mom of an ADHD child I can relate! What you are doing is beautiful and I'm so happy you found it.


Hi @celosia, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 3pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord

What a great story! I have to say, as a novice myself, I am completely and utterly impressed that this is your first piece! It's beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69262.51
ETH 3679.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22