Books: The Hobbit

in #english6 years ago

hobbiton.jpg

Dear Steemit community, I will share with you some of my experiences with the books that I have read during my life, some very interesting, others not so much, but always with the same desire to find myself with new literary works that allow me to immerse myself in fantastic worlds.

A few years ago (long before the movie) I read "The Hobbit" by J.R.R. Tolkien, published in 1937 which prepared the ground for the arrival of “Lord of the Rings”, narrating the story of Bilbo Baggins, what motivates him to leave the Shire and his adventures with Gandalf the Gray and the 13 Dwarfs Thorin Oakenshield, Balin, Bofur, Ori, Dori, Nori, Oin, Bombur, Dwalin, Gloin, Bifur, Kili and Fili.

During his trip to Erebor also known as The Lonely Mountain native place of the dwarves and among which Thorin Oak Shield is the rightful heir to the throne; they go through many impressive and spectacular places like all created by the mind of the J.R.R. Tolkien, like Rivendell, refuge-city of the Elves and under the direction of the Half Elf Elrond; the Black Forest, also home of Elves, but these known as Wood Elves and ruled by King Thranduil; the Cloudy Mountains, where due to a strong storm they are forced to cross them by the caves and it is where it happens the as wonderful as fun play of the destiny that joins the hero of the story with the creature called Gollum and that during a game of riddles that Bilbo had already lost, he does the simple, but miraculous question, What do I have in my pocket ? not remembering that he had kept a ring that he had found minutes before.

anillo.jpg

After his arrival to Erebor and his encounter with the fearsome Smaug (the dragon that had driven the dwarves from their lands) begins the final stage of history, the fight against the dragon to recover the mountain and after killing it, the battle to keep the land freshly recovered.

Throughout the book you are forced to turn the page, you want to know what goes on in the next chapter, the intrigue is too big. Definitely, Tolkien knew very well, how to keep the reader tied to his works while unveiling the huge universe he had created.

smaug.jpg

I really appreciate Tolkien's works, the only one I have not read or, rather, I did not finish reading because I lost the book, was the Silmarillion, but for the rest, I am delighted with his writing.

Soon I will publish my impressions of other books that I have read and if you want to comment on the same book or make a recommendation, you can leave it in the comments section.

Until next time,
Luis Colmenares

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71353.04
ETH 3819.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51