The Stain of The Water Well

in #english6 years ago

The Stain of The Water Well

I was born in a cabin in the distance of the forest located near a lake and a river that supposedly was a spring, I doubted it since I was small, since I always detected a strange smell, it was a slight aroma of rot, but nobody believed me , neither my mother nor my stepfather, nor even my grandmother who was already crazy. We were one of the oldest families that inhabited that forest ... We, the Thomsons and the Mc Murray. Although the Mc Murray were always the most isolated and unsociable, they are somewhat strange.

I have been living with my family for more than 20 years, we are 19 people in all and 20 soon, since the little Key is on the way. My life has been normal and with much to be desired, we do not have technology like in the big cities, but we do have energy for light and sometimes a little TV, but not for so long, because that giant drawer consumes much of it . We are located approximately an hour and a half from the nearest town, it is not far, but it is very annoying the trip to look for certain medicines for the grandmother. As I'm 20 years old, it's my turn to drive there every three days for medicine or a treat.

We do not lack anything, we have light, varied food in the garden, and water 24 hours a day without annoying bills, totally free and very close.

Something that had not counted is that there is a well built inside the river, according to my grandmother, it was already built when she was a child, her father told her a story where she said that before there was not a river, only a small cliff where they had to build that I put in to be able to extract enough water to survive in that extreme drought.

No one knows exactly or at least not in my family who built that well, but if you know the story, the whole thing has always been a mystery, but it is so ambiguous that it is not worth paying attention to a dirty moldy deposit that it has existed for years before the river.

Another day passes and I have to go out and buy the things from the list to the village. I finish tired of the trip, but everything vanished when I see my desperate uncle waiting for me at the entrance of the cabin.

He tells me that the grandmother disappeared, disappeared just after having a moment of lucidity, according to everyone they were so happy that they began to prepare a celebration dinner. Everyone had planned to do something and everyone collaborated to make the celebration special. And just at that moment he disappeared, leaving only a tar black stain on top of his rocking chair and a few small patches on the floor, but no clue to where Grandma could be. Everyone went to look for her, all except my uncle who was very ill of the legs and had to stay in the house to wait if he returned or appreciated any clue as to his whereabouts.

It's weird, but I could not get that one thought on the ground out of my head.

I wanted to do a little research in depth, so I went to ask more about the happy place at the bottom of the river.

The Thomsons were the closest family to us, so I went to talk to them ...

It took me half an hour walking, but when I arrived I knocked on the door of their house and I told them what happened in my house and what I had thought about that mysterious waste, they saw me as if I had lost my mind, I was disappointed, so I decided go and keep looking for more clues and perhaps know more about the whole thing.

When I was 5 minutes on my way back the Young Frank Thomson stops me and whispers to me, "The Mc ... The Mc Murray". I felt he wanted to tell me more, but he looked around fearfully, after that he ran home again.

I turned and ran as fast as I could in the direction of the house of the Mc Murray, the distance between the Thomson house and the Mc Murray was much shorter, so I could get to 10 minutes (tired, but I arrived fast).

I touched the door with despair and I received Mr. Pett Mc Murray, his face was dark and very gloomy, as if emanate a bad vibration, apart from the dark rings that marked the style so terrifying that I always hated him.

As I could tell him the story and what he thought, he simply sat down in his dusty chair and began to tell me the story of the well, which went back 5 generations on him, where the head of the family at that time with his He dug and built that same well and it was used until one day out of nowhere water began to flow from the mountains creating a river big enough and deep enough to leave that sediment in oblivion. According to Mr. Pett, he only remained silent after telling me that he did not know more about that happy place.

I thanked him and wanted to take up the matter, I wanted to see why he was so obsessed with the dregs and because I felt it had something to do with the disappearance of my grandmother.

I headed towards the river, when I got there I looked at it, I took off my shoes and I plunged into the water, the bed was very low, but I was a good swimmer and could hold my breath more than the average.

I saw the sediment in the distance, and decided to lower more, the closer I got it was easier to swim, and I felt there was less tension, when I was close to the ground and from the above mentioned I noticed something strange, there was an atmosphere type around the well . I was able to stand up and even breathe, I walked cautiously and looked down, it was dark, but it felt like bubbling oil and between that I see a human figure, it was my grandmother that when she noticed that someone was here she started asking for help, like the I still had his rope, I asked my grandmother to hold on firmly that I was going to take it out.

When I have the rope tense I can only feel hands that push my back towards the bottom of the well, as I could hold the rope with one hand and with the other I grabbed the stone edge of the well. I could only think that it was one of the Mc Murray, I thought they would have something to do, but more wrong was not there. The figure was of the Young Frank Thomson, with a smile saying "You know too much" and before he stepped on my hand I could see how the rest of that damn family began to appear around the well.

And my last view of the "surface" was the whole family looking down before covering the grounds.


Fuente


banner steemit1.png

Original Story: @MochiRG
For more at: @MochiRG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58