It Felt Like a Huge Slap on My Face

in #enterpreneur6 years ago (edited)

During the weekend I ran into an old school mate of mine i haven't seen in about 5 years, I was a guest at a hotel for an event with my crew and we have ordered some food from the restaurant, she was the one who attended to us and wait the tables, she had graduated early 2013 and got an administrative position with some big organization where she was really making a great living and had left the company last year to start her own business and needed to pickup a job that was flexible and would allow her focus as well as make ends meet

At some point, she even spoke closely to me and apologized "I'm so sorry you had to see me in this condition" she had said

It felt like a slap in my face thinking she thought i would look down on her for doing what she had to do to allow her pursue her happiness.

My response to her was:
"There is no humiliation in doing what you have to do to pursue your passion, you should foremost pursue your passion and no matter how condescending it may look, make sure you're fulfilling your purpose and make sure it makes you happy"

It takes courage to chase happiness, we've been caught up in a society where the social values have become corrupt and everyone is trying to look grand, even when they are working on a failed mission. You have to be brave to accept that your ego and pride may have to take a back seat until you’re self sustainable.

You worry that your friends and family will judge you.

You’re afraid you may meet a former friend, schoolmate or work colleague at the park when you're trying to use the public transport or carrying your products around.

You dread the thought having to look simple and cut down on the accessories, hair and expensive lifestyle, because you just cannot afford them at the moment

Or you're scared you may pick up a Friend, when you've turned your car to a Taxi or Uber on the streets.

Most of us will never find the courage to get out of our own way.

For those of you who have and are chasing your happiness,

I SALUTE YOU TODAY.
I ADMIRE YOU
I ENCOURAGE YOU TO CONTINUE
I THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING WHAT YOU ARE TODAY

Sometimes those who you think are too good are rarely good enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73