You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There goes my hero... he's a scoundrel.

in #entertainment6 years ago

While not diminishing the base of a father willing to sacrifice everything for his boy because that is very clearly the bulk of if it, I always saw a layer of a man trying to save his princess too.

From the moment I saw it it was in my head that maybe he made the decision to walk in there and face Kylo Ren so that she didn't ever have to, that maybe he would walk out with their son and as an added bonus make it up to her... to Luke even... I thought that he felt solely responsible for his son turning to the dark side and if he could just go in there and try it would be repentance for failing them all.

Sort:  

Oh I like this.

Still heroic but for a different reason. Add that to the fact that I still think Rey is his daughter and perhaps it is even more heroic.

If I miss any of your posts, please make sure you get my attention.

That crossed my mind, as did Luke but I don't think that her parents are cannon, and honestly I'd prefer them not to be. (I don't think Anakin or Luke were the Chosen One either.) That would be the most revolutionary angle by far. The biggest plot twist would be that her parents are non-cannon because everyone is expecting it, and it doesn't really add any interest, or progress the over all story... we're going to what, watch a family feud unfold for 600 years? Patterns need to be broken for progress, as a character she's dynamic enough and I don't feel like any ties to the Skywalker line will really add any dimension, her being something new and different however incites curiosity and intrigue. For me it would make sense that Reys abilities are a natural result of the force being out of sorts, and that she'll bring balance to the force by becoming neither Jedi nor Sith, possibly even pulling Kylo Ren into a place of internal balance, and destroying the entire construct of "dark side" and "light side" and along with it both orders (though the Jedi order doesn't seem to fare too well any way does it?) and fulfilling the prophecy that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63