The Review: D-Box Movie Theater Seats. Are They Worth The Extra Money?

in #entertainment6 years ago (edited)

5ABDBDAC-4A2D-476A-BC1D-620979087BC4.jpeg

What is D-Box?

D-BOX is changing the way you watch movies by moving the body and sparking the imagination through motion. With D-BOX, you control the intensity so you can move with the movie and feel every scene as if you were in it. They have removed the line between you and the screen to create hyper-realistic, immersive, one-of-a-kind entertainment experiences that pull you into the movie.

To create this unique experience requires highly-specialized hardware and software that store, manage and transmit motion codes to D-BOX-enabled cinema. The result is an incredible cinematic motion experience that moves your seat in sync with the action on the screen to immerse viewers in the movie so they feel like they’re in it.
EA2318F8-FD9B-40D2-9950-9EACD4ACD829.jpeg

Today, I had the pleasure of watching The Avengers Infinity War at a Cinemark Theater in Los Angeles using the D-Box 4D Experience Seats. Upon arrival I had no idea what a DBox even was. As I was purchasing my ticket at one of the touchscreen kiosk I stumbled across the option, I was interested in seeing the very next showing and the DBox seats were the only available seats. The total was around $18. I somehow was able to purchase the ticket with my Moviepass so BONUS!!!

6E98AEE1-8996-4C0D-ACA5-6830FC518113.jpeg

In the theater there were 2 rows of these seats just like in the 1st picture posted and I sat dead in the middle.
Now mind you these seats move and groove with the movie. Your able to adjust the intensity and I believe GO Big or Go home so I turned that bad boy to the max. Infinity Wars was the best movie to watch for my 1st D-Box experience because it was nonstop action which the seat adjusted to every fall and punch. During spaceship and plane scenes you felt the shakes. When thing exploded you felt the sudden pounds on your seat. Honestly, took my movie experience to another level.

D0A2ABD2-0162-4345-92EC-B4E521614BF0.jpeg

BUT IS IT WORTH IT?

YES AND NO...
I personally think the $18 is a bit steep for such a limited experience. I think because the theater was sold out that was the only reason why I was able to get Moviepass to cover my purchase. I believe that you should only purchase the seats for movies with lots of action. Imagine spending that amount to watch “The Quiet Place”. You would only get the effect a few times and that would be just a waste.
Another issue you have to watch for is the intensity level. I’m no doctor but if you have a bad back I wouldn’t recommend these seats or at least on the highest intensity. The sudden jerks and hard shakes may not be comfortable for you.
Also be careful with your snacks. Although I didn’t purchase any I noticed the couple next to me spill a good handful of popcorn during one of the fight scenes. The guy in front of me struggled to drink his drink from his straw several times.

So in the end I’m glad I got to experience the D-Box but good chance I won’t be seeing many movies with these seats unless Moviepass is covering it.

FC4F2E84-58AC-48F4-B1E5-728832839CAF.png

Sort:  

They are definitely hit or miss based on the movie playing.

Congratulations @thereview! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @thereview! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thereview! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81