Doing things differently.

I'm no newbie to steemit but I might as well call myself one. When I first signed up it was more of a test run. Could I really make money from a simple video or post? Absolutely! Steemit can be addictive and although I wasn't a top curator, I was making more than I thought was possible.

So why did I leave? As with anything, you sometimes need to take a step back from everything. Re-evaluate your life, your work and take time to remember your WHY. That's what I needed. Initially, I didn't have the intention of actually using this platform as often as I did. I also felt the urgency to create new content all the time to earn more money. The issue was, I stopped paying as much attention to what I was creating. I believe there was some value to it but, if I'm being honest, I just wasn't feeling it.

My truth. I absolutely used to hate blogging. I could write short stories, songs, poems, etc. all day long. But blogging was my worst enemy. So why am I blogging right now?

This past weekend I went on a spiritual retreat with a close friend of mine. When I returned home I felt like a better version of myself. I was forced to face my fears, my truth and everything about myself I'd never want to face. Some of it was a hard pill to swallow. So what does this have to do with blogging? I realized that it wasn't blogging that I hated. It was the fear of negative feedback and possible rejection. That's why I stopped blogging as an influencer and stuck to social media. I cared too much about what others thought. It may sound weird coming from a serial entrepreneur who has been faced with extreme negativity, side-eyes, and the maybe next time line. I have lived rejection. I have embraced it. But when it comes to blogging I get overwhelmed. Like right now I know there are people out there critiquing my writing skills. I may have put a comma in the wrong place (It's Grammarly's fault) but I no longer care.

So I ended up here, again, today because I realized that I have nothing to fear. Who cares if my writing sucks. Who cares if you don't resonate with my post. Give it a thumbs up or down. The only thing that has ever held me back was myself and my fears. This past weekend reminded me of that. So I'm diving in ready to take whatever comes my way.

So what now?

I'll be posting my first video before the end of the year. It will cover a new in-depth introduction, updates since my last content, 2020 goals, topics I'll cover throughout the year and whatever else comes to mind.

Yes, I know. I didn't need to write a post about this. I could have just did a video. The thing is, this isn't for you. It's for me. To prove to myself that I don't need to be a perfectionist when it comes to a post. That just being myself is good enough, no matter where that takes me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61