Cloth Diaper (Nappy) History Part 8

in #enviroment6 years ago

CandiesGroup2.jpg

Modern Cloth Diapering Era
Late 1980's to present

  1. Late 1980's - Cloth users re-emerged with environmental issues concerning the use of disposables.
    Help_Enviornment.jpg
  2. In 1990 a Gallup poll stated that more than a quarter American were willing to switch to cloth diapers.
  3. During the 1990's cloth slowed down a bit, but thanks to the internet, early cloth diaper stores, and innovative diaper brands it took pace again.
  4. 1987 - An S.A. dad, Hennie Visser, invents the all so loving and strong Snappi
    diaperclosureevolutionsq.jpg
  5. 1987 - The first All-in-on nappy is brought forth by a company called Kooshies.
  6. In 1991 disposables fight back with the a "compasible, degradable" diaper. It was later proven that these diaper can't compose.
  7. Disposables could be bought on every shelf, but it was nearly impossible to get hold of cloth diapers. Pre-internet parents ordered through catalogues.
  8. 1992 - The very first pocket diaper, KangaWrap. It could be used as a diaper cover or a pocker. With a staydry layer.
  9. 2002 - The one size diaper changes everything!
  10. 2003 - Many home-made diaper emerge the market. Thanks to all our lovely WAHM's!
    Pers pakkie.jpeg
  11. 2003 - Wool soaker became very popular.
  12. Life became so much easier with the Diaper sprayer!
  13. 2008 to now - Social media and clothdiapers become one.

Cloth diapering is growing faster and quicker by the day. People get more environmental friendly, people want to waste less and reuse more! But it is still fight we need to fight. Keep spreading the word and show off those lovely cloth bums!
#clothambassador

Semco Mama

Sort:  

Wow! It couldn't be better @semcomama ♥ ♪_♪ ♥

I was born in the 80's. Both my older siblings were cloth diapered. By the time i was born, my parents could afford the new fancy disposables... So thats what i wore most of the time.

Great posts!

Thank you @corrielaine! I love my cloth diapers. I will maybe make a post of some that a make to sell in my business.

Oh yessssss! When we babywear we also do cloth diapering!! Hahahahaha i think those two are inseparable too..

Posted using Partiko Android

Cloth diapering and babywearing are best friends! Love them both. I actually have my own cloth diapering and baby carrier business in my South Africa, my country.

Currently have two in cloth and two in wearing.

Tha lt is just awesome! Do you wear them both?...

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hi @maquemali, only saw your comment now. Yes I wear them both.

I am also busy expanding my cloth diaper and babywearing business. Please read my latest article.

https://steemit.com/business/@semcomama/expanding-the-eco-friendly-cloth-nappy-industry-in-south-africa-crowdfunding

Hehehe oh that was nothing. I was just glad to have found the same momma who loves babywearing and ckoth diapering.. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66934.09
ETH 3099.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74