I hate seeing plastic bags on the beach~

in #environment6 years ago

Seeing rubbish on the ground is a pet hate of mine. I do not understand why people do it. Such mindless behaviour that affects the earth and the animals.

Once again I saw a plastic bag near the edge of the tide ready to be swept out to sea for a fish, turtle, dolphin or whale to eat.

It was probably a bag for bait that a fisherman dropped. Maybe it was an accident and he walked away without looking! So of course I did what any other social responsible citizen would do - I picked it up. Sometimes I see rusty metal buckets on the water's edge or rope or empty food containers that has obviously fell from a ship or boat of some sort. Depending on the size and weight of the object my husband helps out. Then they get thrown in the bin located at the entry of walking path of the beach.

I cannot walk past any kind of rubbish without picking it up and depositing it in the nearest bin.

Our planet Earth is so precious. Us humans need the Earth to keep sustaining us in the best way possible. Why? Why do people still drop rubbish? It is not that they do not see the constant media coverage in the papers, magazines and on television.

There is only one official day in Australia called Clean Up Australia Day when eager enthusiastic people donate their day to pick up bags of rubbish. This national campaign is a great idea and it does a lot of good cleaning up the environment. But to me it is not enough. We need more of these days. We need people to constantly pick up rubbish. Better still we need people to stop dropping rubbish.

The one positive move that is occurring in Australia at present are the big grocery stores, Coles and Woolworths stoppage of using plastic bags. Thank goodness, less plastic bags for the ocean animals to ingest.


Cheers

Angie

Enjoy reading my post. Feel free to comment


Sort:  

I don't know much about the ocean pollution subject @angimitchell are the plastic bags killing alot of fish? I mean I know about plastic bottle and bags polluting the ocean but I've never heard of the impact on fish.
I don't even know if we have a national cleanup day here. here it would take a national cleanup YEAR to have any affect!

I am pretty sure @janton that plastic bags kill bigger fish.

well that ain't right.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Those that are not conscious of the cleanliness of the surrounding do such and it's such a bad practice. We should always put in conscious effort to ensure that our surroundings are always clean. Nice write up

Thank you an i like you comment.

I also pick up every bit of trash I spot on the beach. You just can't leave it there, hampering the view. It is actually an interesting thing, imagining where some of it came from, and seeing how the ocean has transformed it.

This is what I do @ginnyannette. I like your imagination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60