You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Present Dreaming: Why I Hate Christmas, And Love Beryl the Orangutan

It's the present giving that put me off Christmas. I always loved the sentiment that you make that bit of sacrifice to give someone something special for Christmas that they might not have been able to have otherwise, but what do you get someone who already has everything they want and can afford more than you can give them anyway? I also don't want useless items, myself, that will go to a charity shop or in the bin after Christmas.

My family aren't too bad with the idea of sustainable type of gifts, but hubby's family seem to compete and then sneer at gifts that haven't had as much spent on them. My sister-in-law's kid had more toys than my daughters put together when we last visited her. She has a second child now and just bought an even bigger house. The eldest had about £1000 ($2000) spent on him for his 11th birthday. The only thing I can think of to get her kids that they don't already have or get is TimTams! Then I hear that the eldest had a letter sent home from school about health concerns because he's obese and wonder if I shouldn't really be contributing to that...

Yup, I'm with you on Christmas.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Gosh! You can't win!!! 1000 quid - are they rich or in debt??? Far out. You're just raising trouble doing that! Seems like a recipe for unhappiness.

Most of us have what we want, that's why a book or a plant is a really good gift for any of us, and sometimes a meal voucher for a nice restaurant is awesome too as how often do we treat ourselves to a nice meal out? We've been enjoying that gift of late, the whole family appreciates it!

A meal voucher sounds great. I wonder if you can order that online. Could be a good one for the UK rellies.

They spend as quick as it comes in. They buy on credit, then when its paid off they get some more debt to pay off.

Oh gosh that's awful. I absolutely DO think you could order online!!!!! where in the UK are they?

East Midlands. I'll have to look into it.

And where do you live?

(came back to edit - in south australia, have I asked you that before? Du'oh. Sorry! Just went and checked your profile. So many people here I can't keep up! xx Hot there today? It's soooo hot here!)

Currently getting the same weather as yourselves, I believe. Just checked BOM and they've upped their estimate to a top of 40 for today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91