You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Present Dreaming: Why I Hate Christmas, And Love Beryl the Orangutan

in #environment5 years ago

I told the fam I want seeds and gift cards to buy trees :)

Consumerism is a hard cycle to break. We still buy plenty of packaged foods here. Lots of money gets spent on cardboard and plastic that go to the landfill. But we're making progress. Every week, more gets saved and repurposed or composted. Soon we'll start using a composting urinal (for me and the boys, cause boys love peeing on leaves). Remember, Nate's not a hippie. I'm just a normal dude that's tired of so many external inputs and outputs.

This homestead thing is like a snowball. Eventually, we won't be needing to buy packaged greens that come in a plastic bag. Or gmo corn that comes in a can. Or eggs with a styrofoam package.

I commiserate with your feelings about Christmas. Consumerism tries so very hard to ruin it in the name of excessive profits.

Sort:  

Dear Hippie In Texas

I Have just started going to whole foods as one opened up in town. I can bring my own jars. So much less waste. So feels good. Waste is not good, hippie or not.

Love Hippie in Antipodies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear antipodal hippie

I have too many guns to be a hippie. I keep saying we'll go to our local market, but I keep not going. Waste sucks. Partially because I'm lazy and hate rolling out the trash. But waste also is a justification for the state, who props up big pharma and big ag and the military industrial complex, all of which destroy the earth. Waste pisses me off. I need to go to the local market to help with my self loathing and inconsistency.

Love, Texan anarchist.

Can we be anarchic hippies with guns? Yes we can! Xx I'm with you 100 percent xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

Totally down for anarchist hippies with guns! 😂 Sounds pretty much heavenly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91