You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Present Dreaming: Why I Hate Christmas, And Love Beryl the Orangutan

in #environment5 years ago

I love this soooooo much! Everything you say is spot on, in fact, I just had this conversation with my sister the other day. IMO Christmas is way too commercialized, and the actual meaning has been lost to glitz, glamour and keeping up with the Joneses. We respect and celebrate Christmas but we do so in the sharing of togetherness; any gifts we give are token only and somethin useable, usually food, lol.

What a beautiful gift of an orangutan; and it would be just as sweet if it were any other creature, there are so many near extinction because of humans.

Yes, I do read all my labels and refuse to buy anything with palm oil if I am aware it is in the product. (I laugh at “vegans” who eat Oreos... I am vegan, btw).

If each person could just make one small change in their lives to better our world, it would make a huge difference. And that one step in the right direction can change your own attitude, giving a sense of euphoria, making you want to do it again and again.

Thank you for such a heartfelt post.

Sort:  

Thank you for your lovely comment. It is really appreciated. Yes it is one thing to be vegan and another thing to be completely ethical. You can't be vegan because you love animals and then turn around and eat products that , whilst they may not have animal products in them ,have an influence on the animal kingdom and the very Earth itself. It actually makes things a little bit harder , but once you set the habit of being aware it becomes quite easy

Posted using Partiko Android

As they say, nothing worthwhile ever came easy... it takes but a few minutes to read a lablel, once you know what you are looking for, it is simple.... the hard part comes in finding an alternative or doing without.

I have yet to make my own vegan butter, but refuse to buy vegan margarine because of the palm oil, so peanut butter on dry toast is what I eat, or a little bit of coconut oil... we just have to retrain the brain, and our taste buds, to think differently.

Thanks for your response.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90