You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Present Dreaming: Why I Hate Christmas, And Love Beryl the Orangutan

in #environment5 years ago

A Christmas orangutan ...that is just the best thing ever!! Oh my gosh, that is just so lovely and fitting and also so sad that it needs to be done in the first place.

I thank you for this, I share a lot of the same sentiments and really think it is such an important thing for people to "vote carefully with their wallets". The choices we make really do have such a big impact on this world.

We enjoy the holiday season, Christmas movies and old crooners on the radio, but it sure looks a lot different than most peoples version. My husband and I don't exchange gifts - we are each others gift!! :) a lot of the time the gifts we give to others are either hand made locally or by us. I loathe buying gifts from the shops and just can't do it. Everyone seems to be happy with what they get so I think it works out.

The thing that assures me we've got it right is that everyone is happy, relaxed and stress free at our house. It's about the connections and the time together and the good home grown eats!

As I get older all of the holidays have lost the lustre and I find the greed/consumerism side of it to be quite revolting. I just can't stomach the fact that so many people in retail have to work on the holidays or that shops are open at all during them, because there is so much greed in the world.

Sort:  

My husband and I don't exchange gifts - we are each others gift!! :)

And i thought I was romantic!!! Love it.

You are I are definitely on the same page here. And yes, our Christmas is relaxed too and lovely. That's why I like the day, but avoid shops like anything!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92