Summary and quotes from Let's talk EOS Nov 7th

in #eos-project6 years ago

Interview with @akrid

03:29 @akrid about Whaleshares, on how he joined Steem.

I was randomly watching YouTube. I fell asleep, watching YouTube and woke up in the middle of night, and somebody was on there talking about Steem, so I decided to check it out.

I had been looking for something to too do because one of my favorite games that I played got shut down. So I had a lot of free time on my hands and I was waiting for a new contract to kick in. So I didn't have work at that point in time and it was a perfect timing, perfect opportunity. I jumped right in.

05:33 How @akrid joined Whaleshares and BitShares

I actually joined bitshares because of whale shares.

I came across the announcement post of whale shares and I immediately joined right up. I was looking for communities to join so that I could interact with a larger group of people, maybe find a project to work on, and I noticed there was a lot of that on discord, so I decided to utilize it one of the first ways. I did that was joining you guys in the first whale shares, a chat and giveaway that you guys hosted

@officialfuzzy: And now you find yourself in a position where, because you've done a lot of things within the community, you are now the primary person who's helping to run everything, and you have a small team who seems like they're, very intent on helping out too

08:02 @akrid's crypto experience

@officialfuzzy: Do you feel like the whale shares community is something that has been kind of a complete different experience from anything else that you've seen or if you felt like there have been similar experiences throughout your experience in crypto?

I didn't have much experience with crypto before coming to Steemit and Bitshares, but I I would say it is unique in comparison to everything that I've seen since then. It is first of all a crosschain use case, which is, in my eyes, pretty rare and it's extremely useful to people who are first entering the crypto universe and learning not only survive but profit in this world. And I think that everybody who is there is extremely supportive, helpful and allows for even more people to finally find their way in the world.

09:57 The whaleshares community on discord

The whaleshares asset that is used as a tool to get a vote on posts on steem from the whale called @officialfuzzy and that account is delegated by block trades.

10:55 What's the difference between the whaleshares token and the whaleshares community?

The whaleshares community is extremely diverse. There are a lot of new members that come in and utilize the resources that blocktrades have enabled them to use, but they also work together to build different, different things. They have started projects. There have been many that have been launched from whaleshares, including hairshares, voiceshares and a few others, and I think that when you give a community a the tools and knowledge and understanding to create their own things, they actually do a really good job with that.

@themarkymark is one of those people that hangs out in the whaleshares Discord and he had a contest running about with get-shit-done.

He is one of those people that actually does go above and beyond, where other people aren't really capable of doing. He has a lot of knowledge and capabilities that allow him to do it and he is always willing to share that knowledge with people, and it's been really helpful.

14:01 Out of curiosity, why do you personally support whaleshares?

I realized how valuable communities were, because it was kind of hard to just put a post up, get some random views and followers. When, if you talk to people on discord or steemit chat, then you have real-life interactions with these people and they can get a sense of how you actually are.

16:49 How long does it take for you to take a beyondbit or a whaleshare token and earn something with that?

The bitshares and steam blockchains are extremely fast like three seconds per block I believe. And it is almost almost that fast, where you get your vote as soon as you make the transaction.

20:40 Do who you'd like to give shout-outs too, thank-you's to those who helped in the community?

We have some excellent mods in the whaleshares community, @steempowerpics and @krazykrista do a lot of work. @bycompoundfilms helps out a lot with some other projects that you have going on. So that's awesome.

We have a number of contest coordinators. They have unique contest that they host and whaleshare sponsors them gives them some whaleshares every single week to distribute to the winners of their contests, and you can find all the newest contests. If you go to steemit.com/@contests, that is a public account that all of the contest coordinators have access to they immediately resteem and upvote for a small amount just to help get the ball rolling.

It's a really useful way to earn whaleshares and start to make some good make some good money and not have to pay for it when in this economy, that seems to encourage paying for all of the votes you get.

@officialfuzzy: It's cool to see all the different ways that people pay with with sweat-equity and their own talents and skills and passions. I've always personally believed that, if you're doing something that you're passionate about it's not really as much like work.

22:38 If anybody wants to join the whaleshares community, which I recommend people do, how would they go about doing that?

Anybody can join the discord and start chatting and we actually host a lot of events that encourage people to come in.

@krazykrista hosts a weekly voice chat that is always at random times and rewards people who are new and active in the chat.

We also have a live post promotion event by hosted by @freedomexists. It gives everybody a chance to share their post, give a description, explanation about it and actually make a small, few minute presentation to a group of everybody else and everybody can ask questions. They are encouraged to vote and comment on the feed and we give everybody a chance to make their little presentation about their post and get the word out.

25:55 A thank you and where do you see the future?

I don't want to take all the credit. Jp Henderson and Petal and Koch did an excellent job before me, getting the community and the asset going, and I just kind of I just kind of took over and when it when it was needed.

And I noticed that there is always openings for people who want to help. And we like to give opportunities to a lot of people.

We get a fresh cycle of people coming and helping out and then sometimes they go and start their own project and sometimes like me, I stayed over and a little bit longer. But eventually I have some excellent ideas and eventually I want to be able in to step into those projects one day, so I am going to need somebody to take over for me eventually.

EOSbits

28:38 EOSbits logo art contest, rewarding 150 $BD worth of beyondbits for each one.

It's going to be on EOStalk right here. You can join up and enjoy the early versions of the technology that us is going to be leveraging. You can participate or have somebody else. who is an artist participate.

29:30 First logo

These are all paid for by the beyondbits, which is a version kind of like whaleshares of the cross platform use case that we have available.

30:36 Second logo

30:38 Third logo

This one at present is the one that looks like it's leading the pack, at least for me.

31:31 What EOS bits are.

For us is, they are a token that is another cross-platform use case, but I am planning on leveraging them to be backed by EOS bandwidth.

If you run a meetup or something to that effect, and you get a hold of us and let us know what's going on and that you can maybe even come on - live for some meetups occasionally or to talk about your meetups, I will be giving out EOSbits And I'll also occasionally give them out for things like this logo challenge.

32:17 Find or create EOS dapps and get rewarded

I'm going to try to go out and find dapps and I'm going to ask you guys to be part of this, and I will reward you EOSbits if you want to bring on dapps that would use some of these tokens and let people use them to actually gain access to maybe perks within the ecosystems that they build.

Bandwith tokens

33:14 What are bandwith tokens?

Freedompop.Com has shown people that bandwidth on a network can be a very valuable service. I learned that whenever I created a freedompop account, I could actually get bandwidth on the network for bringing new people on, so they leveraged bandwidth as a currency or a token of appreciation or loyalty points of some sorts.

If you were a whale in EOS and you would like to create your own token, I'm more than interested in you reaching out to me and talking about potentially locking away some tokens and making your own token that you can distribute to people in something called the Whaletank.

I'm going to really start pushing towards talking about projects on EOS on the whaletank. And I would urge the whales to consider having a token like this and consider share dropping them into giving some of these tokens being worth bandwidth onto tokens that give a share drop, i.e. free tokens in their project to holders of EOS

We can actually start funding the development of things by giving bandwidth based tokens.

36:46 M-Pesa, comment from the audience

Mattca says minutes on cell phones are exchanged as currency.

37:04 Steem / EOS cross-platform project?

Toronto, Blue Jay says: is there going to be a steam / EOS cross-platform project?

@officialfuzzy: Eostalk.Io is backed by the Steem blockchain. Actually, when you're posting there you're posting to the Steem blockchain.

You can actually get upvoted for your content and paid directly here, so that would be a synergistic kind of service that exists today. And where I'm trying to take this? As I always joke around creating Voltron, I think that a lot of these chains can actually work together, in some ways, as it can be a coopertition as opposed to you know, a direct, competent or direct cooperation.

I think that EOS is going to kind of really bring that to bear and it's going to show people what can happen when you have multiple services that can run and scale in parallel.

There will be data from certain chains that would be valuable on other chains and for other use cases.

If you know people who are interested in building and who are doing cool things with this, I will reward the coolest ones that come to me. I assure you on that.

39:33 30 minutes hangout sessions and afterparty

@officialfuzzy: I would like us having 30 minute kind of hangout sessions here talking about various things that are going on and that are EOS related or very important to EOS, and then we're going to have a kind of an after party and that's going to be on the Eostalk discord.

You can join directly from EOStalk.io or go to https://discord.gg/PnDBu9

In addition, you can actually use whaleshares and beyondbits on links on these forums. So if you find something that you want to have upvoted and you want to pay a little bit to get them noticed more, you can actually use whaleshares and beyondbits today to actually vote them up using the links on EOStalk.io. We have this all set up.

We'Ve been preparing for this EOS stuff for years and byte master [ Dan Larimar ] created bitshares and Steem to prepare himself to try to get to this point. Where he's at now with EOS.

Dan has always said that this dapp platform is going to enable us, as a community, to form some amazing opportunities for everybody to not only make a lot of money but to build a lot of value. And I think that once we once we show people that we can do that and we can leverage things like EOStalk.io, the tokens that we're creating and EOS bits, I think that we have a really strong use case to bring a lot of value in an organic way. This is the start of something beautiful.

43:32 Next week

@officialfuzzy: We'll try to keep it down to 30 minutes guys but next week after we do that, we're going to start having these after parties and I'm going to sit and talk to all you for like a good hour hour and a half afterwards. So make sure that you're in there and that you're getting set up properly and saying hi to everybody in there.

If you're interested in being a moderator, I'm interested in people who want to help - and I can maybe maybe reward you here in there a little bit with these tokens.

43:49 Blockchain Steve Jobs

I don't know how big it's going to be all I'm going to say is I'm going to buy as low as I can a little bit at a time and I'm going to hold.

comment from the audience:

Actually many Koreans like ethereum and they don't know much about EOS, but I think next year they will be aware that EOS is better than a ethereum.

@officialfuzzy: Ethereum has governance issues it has. It has a lot of things, that's that it needs to overcome. If you see a bunch of the ethereum ICO's out there that are worth a bunch of money, they might be great ideas, but the question is: are they going to exist whenever they need to scale to actually fulfill the requirements of a bunch of users?

48:44 Thank you an some stats

Before you say your goodbyes, I just want to say to thank you to everybody who are subscribing to the channel. We're almost at 200 subscribers, EOS is at 400. We plan to match their number within the next week, or so. We we had 24 people watching today and that's pretty cool and a lot of people were engaged.

Thank you and see you next Tuesday @ BeyondBitcoin.club!

Sort:  

Great post! Love your work!

Loading...

Real great,this kind of post is, in my opinion, how every post that is about one video should look like, cause if you only post the video doesn't seem fair to receive rewards on the post.
I hope more people will get inspired by you and start posting their video with a summary like you did!!

Thanks a lot!

Let me know if you want chapters links to the YouTube video.
grep -E "([0-6][0-9]:[0-9][0-9])" $this_file > chapters
sed -E "s/([0-6][0-9])(:)([0-9][0-9])/\1m\3s/" chapters etc.

The YouTube video is going to have the chapters btw.

"Excellent post love your post"...

Loading...

Congratulations @nutela, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2563 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2547.46. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I liked a very nice post

Congratulations @nutela! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94