My journey down the Blockchain. An artist looks forward to a new dawn.

in #eos6 years ago

IMG_5425.PNG

I’m so excited. A new dawn is approaching.

Crypto
I was first introduced to cryptocurrency in December 2017 when my son told me about it. I had heard about Bitcoin but never really paid any attention. Curious as to what it was all about, he showed me how you had to sign up with a local exchange to get your fiat currency in and convert it to Bitcoin or Ethereum. I did this and bought some Bitcoin. I then watched Bitcoin grow hitting $10,000 a token and climbing rapidly. Wow!. Of course I had bought only a fraction of a coin. It nearly reached the dizzy height of $20,000. Bitcoin is currently at $7,446.

The next step was to buy some altcoins. For this you needed an exchange. Binance looked like a good one and I signed up carefully noting my password. I then transferred Bitcoin from my local wallet to Binance. What a shock I got when I worked out how much the transmission fees were. From then on I had doubts about Bitcoin’s future. Ethereum’s fees were lower and faster. Here was a whole new word of altcoins. On the 31 May 2018 1640 cryptocurrencies are listed on coinmarketcap.

Altcoins
On Binance has a whole world of altcoins with strange names. What does one choose, what will be a good investment for the future? Youtube videos is a good place to start. To hear what others were thinking and what this whole new thing was all about. So many choices. At some point I watched a video on Bitconnect and thought this sounded too good to be true. It turn out to be a huge scam and dropped to zero value. I dipped my toes in and bought some Sonm, Vechain, Substratum, Aeron, Iota and Cardano and a few more. Someone said this was like the wild west. What a roller coaster ride we went on! Amazing gains and then the whole market came crashing down in February. It never bothered me as I was in it for the long-haul and wasn’t speculating. Then it all rose again in April only to bottom out again. Still the ride was exciting with all the twists and turns.
IMG_5427.jpg

Superstars
Watching various videos and researching the merits of various tokens one was enthralled by the likes of Charles Hoskinson of IOHK explaining how a third generation blockchain, Cardarno, would work. I have great faith in its future. I then became aware of Dominik Schiener of the Iota foundation. Loved this idea of the tangleweb. Then I stumble upon Andreas Antonopoulos extolling the merits of Bitcoin and just loved listening to his wisdom and wonderful presentation.He is so polished. I never had an interest in Bitcoin as its seems a very energy wasteful process to do all the proof of work mining. Another genius is Vitalik Buterin of Ethereum and watching him speak was very interesting; but it was when I came across a video where Dan Larimer was being interviewed that I became aware of his projects, namely Bitshares, Steemit and Eos. I became interested as he had previous experience in blockchain. I had signed onto Steemit in December and posted a few things. I never realised that this social media site was running on a blockchain. The I watched series of videos by the Cryptoverse and Kyle. When Kyle of the Awakenment explained EOS and likened it to owning real estate I was hooked. It sounded like a project with a future and a purpose.

Portfolio
Why I never spotted Eos earlier when it was relatively cheap I will never know. I decided that based on the few months of experience I had and realising the true potential of Eos to be a player in the future, I decided to move my existing holdings into Eos. One really becomes invested in certain tokens and its hard to let go. Eventually, I even traded my beloved Iota for Eos. The only other crypto I still have are Ada (Cardano), some Steem and a few Ethos because I love their idea of universal wallet idea and the team of Shingo Lavine. The Eos launch which was an interesting ICO taking place over a year, comes to and end to-day when a snapshot of the coins on Ethereum blockchain are taken. Eos registered tokens will become part of the Eos Genesis Blockchain.

Community
Block One who developed the Eos software under the guidance of Dan Larimer are giving the open source software to the community of token holders. Twenty one block producers are going to be voted for and elected. The idea is that the block producers will be distributed around the globe. At this stage it is fascinating to see various groups of many languages and cultures cooperating to launch the mainnet. At present about 160 groups are vying to be part of this project that could be a most important blockchain in the future. A series of video hosted by Eos Go are worth watching.
IMG_5431.JPG

The launch Party Day One

Charles Hoskinson
https://eos.io

Andreas Antonopoulos


Dominik Schiener

Vitalik Buterin

Sort:  

Nice to know that the crypto journey is similar for you as it was for me. Glad you did not get burnt by Bitconnect...that was a sad story. I am also a big fan of Andreas and his youtube vids. Enjoyed your post!

Thanks, it’s been a most interesting journey and I have such respect for the innovation and invention in this space. The next five years are going to be amazing with all the new and exciting dapps on the Blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64