Gave In and Bought EOS (Registration Walkthrough)

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

I told myself I wasn't going to do it but I just couldn't help myself. I am now the proud owner of 28.88 EOS tokens. I could have bought at $4 a coin... I wanted to... but I told myself I would just wait for the release. Oh well. I was talking to a fellow programmer and he convinced me that it would be cool to be on the genesis block. We are both super bullish on EOS and Steem.

Okay, so I've been telling everyone that EOS launches on July 1, 2018. I must have said this at least 50 times. No one corrected me that it actually launches officially on June 3rd... lol.

https://eoscountdown.com/
eos launch.png

Only 21 more days to go! Can't wait.

I got the tokens by sending Ether from Coinbase to Binance. I made a Binance account a while back but I've never used it until now. I then traded the Ether on Binance for the 28.88 EOS coins, and proceeded to send those EOS coins to my MetaMask wallet. Binance charges a flat fee of 0.3 EOS just to transfer to MetaMask. I ended up doing a test run for 9 and another transaction for the rest. Getting charged 0.6 EOS seemed like a rip off but whatever.

Registering the tokens wasn't exactly a trivial task. I live in California, so my IP address was blocked. @dan and Block.One really know how to cover their asses from a legal perspective. ICO laws are very unclear at the moment.

I had to download a VPN for the first time. I spoofed my IP address over to Sweden with a free VPN called TunnelBear.

tunnelbear.png

Once this was completed the button on the EOS main page got unlocked.
https://eos.io/

eos lock.png

eos unlock.png
(You may have to refresh the page.)

You then have to check five boxes promising you aren't from USA or China and you've read the terms and whitepaper.

eos promise.png

eos token distribution.png

From here the website will automatically detect the coins in your MetaMask wallet (make sure you are logged in).
MetaMask Tutorial

You generate a public/private key eos pair, save these key pairs in a safe place. Once you've confirmed you've done this, MetaMask will automatically open a custom menu and transfer $0 to your public EOS key. This costs Ether gas. Once you've done this the registration is complete. You can check it here:
https://eoscountdown.com/

eos registered.png

Funny how they tell you how much your coins are worth in USD when USA is banned from the sale.

eos etherscan.png

When I think about how complicated this process is, and how it comes with no guarantees, I can't help but be sure that the value of EOS coins is going to spike hard on June 3 when EOS goes live, and you can actually buy the coins directly on a service that actually exists. Also, you have to figure that a fair share of people are going to mess up the registration and have trouble claiming their coins on the system. This will lower supply of EOS and increase its value even further.

Go Go E-Operating-System! Tada Moon!!!!11

Sort:  

It's not unusual for the whales to want to lock in profits on formal release so the price could drop in early June. I don't believe that will last long though. Due to the scaling issues of other smart contract platforms and the fact that this OS is similar to the Windows API, a lot of programmers will want to develop on this platform and don't have that much of a learning curve because they can leverage their C++ skills.

It's similar to the situation years ago when I was first writing astrology software that required calculating planetary perturbation terms and using Kepler's equation of center, etc. Once I discovered the Swiss Ephemeris, I was able to ditch my own algorithms and just make calls to a Dll instead.

welcome to the club.. ;-)

sorry.. I can not help myself.. I have to post the youtube for the procedure again.. it was just too good helping me...

If you are invested in EOS tokens or plan to do so soon, you should understand that you HAVE to register your EOS tokens in order to convert those into the actual EOS tokens starting in Summer 2018.

Quote from EOS.io webpage:
If you hold EOS Tokens in an Ethereum account and fail to register your Ethereum address to your EOS public key, then your EOS Tokens may not be part of a Snapshot (as defined below) a third party may wish to create when the EOS Tokens become fixed and non-transferable on the Ethereum blockchain. In order to be part of such Snapshot, it is important that you generate an EOS public and private key pair (see the “Generate EOS keys” button below) and register your EOS public key with your Ethereum address prior to the EOS Tokens becoming fixed and non-transferable on the Ethereum blockchain which will occur within 23 hours after the end of the final period on June 1, 2018 at 22:59:59 UTC.

What sounds terrible is actually pretty easy... but a lot of people give very different advice how to do it.
Here is a youtube video giving a step by step easy tutorial how to do it in 15 minutes solely via the original EOS.io site.

for me it worked perfectly but of course I can not take liability and responsibility for an external link...

I´ve been wanting to buy EOS as well but haven´t done it yet waiting for prices to go a bit lower... Still reading about it. Thanks for sharing!

https://steemit.com/eos/@edicted/went-down-an-eos-k-hole-recently

I wrote a bit about EOS after I did some research. It has a lot of hype for sure.

Thanks, will keep it for my reading hour later on today :)

Welcome to the winner's circle pal. Buy more if you can, all the airdrops, RAM renting and token renting opportunities will pay big dividends in no time.

BTW, there is a much easier way to register your EOS tokens if you already have them, check here

https://steemit.com/eos/@aclarkuk82/eos-registration-how-and-why

Wow, nice one friend

EOS will go to moonshot once again,,, keep it bro
i know your post from steemengine
already upvoted and followed, even my upvote is sooo small :D
maybe you can do the same for me :D

i want to see more posts like that, keep up the good work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10