The EOS Mainnet Launch: A New Dawn

in #eos6 years ago

EOSIO-Dawn-3.0-1024x429.png

A Long Journey

On 22 May 2017 a software company calling itself Block.One revealed EOS to the world, and (https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/blockchain-veterans-announce-eos-blockchain-operating-system-300461176.html) announced their intent to launch a “new blockchain operating system designed to support commercial decentralized applications.” In the year since that first announcement, a passionate and diverse community has rallied around the platform. This community has grown to hundreds of thousands across the globe, united behind that original vision, working together towards the most ambitious decentralized launch effort of a public blockchain network the world has ever seen.

On 9 June, at 0100 UTC, the EOS Mainnet Launch Group (EMLG) unanimously voted “Go” to move forward with the EOS Mainnet Launch. The launch sequence began at 1300 UTC on 9 June 2018 and is expected to complete in 24 - 48 hours. For updates on the launch, look toward the Block Producers you trust and plan to vote for.

Next Steps

Meshing is currently in progress with the seed nodes. The EMLG will release a list of peers to mesh with and the software requirements. On 10 June at 13:00 UTC the ELMG will meet to agree on validation. If validation is good the mainnet will open to the public.

Voting

Once voting for the initial 21 Block Producers is available you will see a notice from Block Producers you trust. Once 150M tokens have been used to vote, the chain will be officially ratified as the EOS mainnet and will be unlocked to the community. At this point, tokens may be unstaked by token-holders and reclaimed after the three-day waiting period.

There are many voting tools that have been created by talented community organizations and Block Producer candidates. However, none of these tools have completed an independent security audit and thus none are officially recommended at this time. The only tool that we recommend is named “cleos”, a Command Line tool for EOS released by Block.One as part of the EOSIO software.

Please be aware that any voting tool requires you to enter your EOS wallet private key, which would give a malicious party full access to your account. Please use the utmost care and only proceed with a platform you are completely confident in. We recommend all token-holders approach your chosen Block Producer candidates for guidance.

Only the Beginning

While this is an exciting milestone, this launch event is just the beginning. EOS has the potential to transform our world, and the power to unlock the potential which lives within this community. This community will create world-changing applications, grow and live under this evolving constitution, and work to integrate this platform into the rest of our world.

We are honored to be on this journey with you, and we look forward to stepping into a new Dawn, together.

-The EOS Mainnet Launch Group

Sort:  

Eos to the Moon

How do you address the growing concerns regarding possible centralization of authority in the long run, vote buying, and suffering from 51% attack?

You do of course realize that .03% of the ERC-20 addresses own 83.3% of the total ether.

Also realize that anyone else could have invested in, and acquired a large stake in EOS. Afterall, they did have an entire year to purchase them. Have you seen my EOS article I wrote? If you just google EOS and steemit, it will pop right up.

I like EOS. Yes, I do have a few. But forget about my bag. I'm not in it for the profit. I'm in it for the promised tech. But let's face the truth of the matter here. Dodging reality will not make this project any superior than the rest.

Take a look at this. Weiss Crypto Currency Ratings just recently downgraded EOS into "B-" classification for the same known centralization concern.

From this current standpoint, it's kind of clear now: EOS is centralizing everything in a noble attempt to decentralized everything. How irony is that?

I think you are assuming an ambiguous classification here, I believe: "centralizing everything".

But anyway, what is your concern towards the community?

And yes, things nowadays might need some sort of control to survive the first steps and that usually relates to centralization. But that does not mean it is the end-goal... and sometimes it's a necessary mean if you work worldwide with potential "non-serious" people in the development of a global joint effort.

So, I think it all depends on the end-goal. And due to "maturation" of the cryptocurrency market, EOS is probably targeting a different set of people initially when compared with others projects, certainly because their experience has told them where the benefit for development strategy is. Either way, what I will be looking into, is the end result. Of which I think is still too soon to evaluate if it has been reached. But is what I am interested to see where it goes.

PS.: I prefer personal opinions than these kinds of ratings like Weiss one, to be honest. I know where philosophically it ends...

But anyway, what is your concern towards the community?

I do not have any concerns towards the EOS community, be it personal or whatever. My concern is not about the way token was distributed during the crowd sale. In fact, that's probably the best thing that has ever happened in the ICO sphere.

I have been a vocal supporter of EOS since day one I came across the project last October 2017. My concern is the consensus mechanism underlying the powerful tech. I didn't care much about this shit before but now it's a matter of public criticism.

The main hype around DLT projects is the promise of liberating people from central authority governing over their data. Here comes first and second generation of blockchain tech. But it's not enough in terms of scalability. So we invented EOS dubbed as the most powerful blockchain infrastructure. But the trade-off is you lose the essence of decentralization.

If that is the case, how is it any different from the incumbent centralized platforms then? Google could simply create their own token without needing to run on a blockchain and have people use their apps and services smoothly and efficiently without bottlenecks whatsoever.

If you could just address the concerns raised by the Weiss rating agency, that would be great.

I do no wish to address his concerns... sorry. I prefer to learn from him and understand what I can do better in my power.

His concerns are no better than yours! So, I would prefer to ear from you personally. Even if you say they are the same. That's a basic form of decentralized knowledge to me.

And thanks for being transparent about your justified "beliefs". I respectfully do not agree to the full extent. But this is why we share our ideals, right? To negotiate a possible path to consensus.

I think the hype is just a part of everyone else's similar stuff. So, I only use it for my own indulgence and fun. And I wish to never bring community my values on that.

EOS is a big project...
An awesome project! Or just like you (if I may), I wish understand more and to bring more of what I believe in.

But liberation is never the solstice of your own vocation. So, you need to diversify, adapt, and understand the rules of power. That's why (in my view) the power we all so wish to be free and decentralized, does not initially!

By by all means, if you can bring more than 14 billion with those ideals, in 365 days, go for it... I will BE your investor! =)

I am on the same train mate...
Just trying to bring more value is not enough anymore. The society is greater than that! I sense I need to sacrifice all the way to make something happen. And that makes me feel just like a supporter. Not like a developer like many are doing... sacrificing much. So, for me, yes this is fun, I will fight for it. But never compete with power! Not because I WOULD WISH not... but because that would destroy the essence of my life.

And survival is the most truthful skill human kind has...

PS.: Google or any other "of the kind" enterprise company could potentially never survive if not to the thanks of people that brought code into the free world! Otherwise, they will never be ahead of "others".

Ideas when kept controlled are never revolutionary! You have a ton of examples since the rise of The Pyramids.

=)

hi dear @extrospect i hope you are well
but i am not well because i lost my old ID
for a myself mistake.
so help me help me help me.

Very impressive work. I hope BPs can find a way to work together with the community to make this emerging EOS ecosystem the largest in the world. BuildTeam is also a BPC and we would like to invite you to the @buildteam discord server so we can discuss potential synergies as fellow BPCs. Congrats on mainnet launch!

Great work team. EOS Canada has my vote.

Great work again EOS Canada - has been a pleasure following your work through this process and am glad this is only the beginning.

Waiting to report on the blogs when the launch is completed. Let's go.

Waiting to report
On the blogs when the launch is
Completed. Let's go.

                 - iamjide91


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

History! Lets change the world. Much respect to all BPs putting in hard work to launch.

Fantatasic news great work

persist in

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95