EOS Mainnet Launch Status - Important Update

in #eos6 years ago

Or so they say ...

image.png

Please read @eos-canada's announcement The EOS Mainnet Launch: A New Dawn and tell me what you think.

Yes, I realize that all the block producers are putting substantial effort in this endeavor. Both in human power and in finances. Yet, I don't like what I see. Or don't see.

Once again it comes down to the subjective means of measurement. Whom do you trust, whom do you believe to do the things for you the best? It's a question of faith, belief, religion in one word. Not good!

Not to mention that the new meritocracy elite is being born. Block producers and groups of them are the new overlords of the blockchain universe. We, the common people, are once again cannon fodder. Or you can put it in maritime fauna terms too when you feel like ...

Ps: http://www.eosportal.io/ is showing no live chains. There were three displayed this morning. The ones with ids 10 an 11 were quite strong. I remember @eosrio having more than 15% of votes. Where did these votes come from? I have EOS tokens and, for the life of me, I have no idea how to vote. Safely and trustworthy and on what chain...

image.png

Sort:  

Good observation. Nicely saying about your thoughts.Is there any thing to say? Is there any alternative of it? What do you think?

I don't know. This mishmash of non-information is frustrating.

Hamm. Let's see what is going on. What is waiting for us in future?

Hamm. Let's see what is
Going on. What is waiting
For us in future?

                 - needforce


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hi, always good to have a critical look at things! now at launch block producers have a very important function, and they do decide a lot... But once the blockchain is established and voting becomes a regular thing and bp will be certainly voted out or in based on their performance, so if those who were there first don't deliver, they will loose their position eventually. Just look at steem, there is witness change all the time.

Thank you for your reply.

I am aware of the important role BPs play in every DPOS ecosystem. Yet there is also power behind this role. And money ... I am not envying them. I am just saying that there is more to the role than their service to the community.

What I am frustrated about is the complete lack of transparency and no clear information.

Come to that, I am not saying that the situation before the genesis block of BitShares or Steem was any better :)

OK, let's wait and see and hope for the best!

Hmm... honestly not sure where you are heading. I understand your concerns and i am aware there are a lot of grey areas, because the had bothered me a lot i have blogged a lot about those possible issues. But eventually we have got a rather firm governance which requests disclosure of ownership of all BPs and disclosure of investement if it goes to more than one bp. Vote buying is forbidden anyway, and its forbidden to use tokens which are not ones own, which should barr exchanges from using the tokens they hold in custody. Did i leave something out? If yes i am very curious to learn what that could be, because i really like to be aware of risks associated with my investment ;-)

Hello and thanks again for your reply, concern and curiosity.

Maybe is just my lack of research that has left me with a mixed feeling of how will everything proceed.

As it looks now there is one mainnet only and BPs are getting votes already.

So far so good :)

By the way - did you vote already? Can you tell me how, please? I mean technically, of course. With what tool ...? I am leaning towards Scatter and Eosportal option. Thanks!

Thanks for coming back to this! I believe its important to always retain some critical stance towards ones investement, and thus i am always looking for possible problems, in the tech i am bullish on.
As regards voting, your setup would have been my preferred one as well, but it seems they have currently a bug and nsjames is sitting on a plain right now.... so maybe i will wait another day as i am not familiar with the other options (dont want to resort to cli yet)

I don't want to build cleos neither :) Ok, let's wait and see.

Have a great week!

Hey @ervin-lemark just to help you clear up some things! The chains on the eosportal were testnets used for testing only! BPCs were only testing the voting functions and other features to see if everything was ok for the end-user. All votes were fake between BPCs and the chains were not open to the public. All tests were successful and we found no bugs :) I'm sorry if that caused you some misunderstanding, it was only a brief period. Right now, the candidate for mainnet was launched by the anonymous ABP and is being tested and validated by all BPCs! Should all go well mainnet will be open to the public sun around 1300 UTC \o/ you can follow the process here: https://eosauthority.com/timeline

Dear @eosrio, thank you very much for your explanation. Yes, it was confusing. Paired with the news of two competing groups it was disturbing too.

At this moment everything looks just great, thank you.

Ps: You'll get my vote as soon as I decide which tool to use. What do you suggest? Let's say that I don't want to go the cleos way...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75