EOS Airdrop Coming - Everipedia Drop Scheduled "Towards End Of February" - Must Move Tokens To Receive

in #eos6 years ago

Eos 1.jpg

EOS, the increasingly promising "alternative" to the Ethereum platform, is about to have its first air drop this month. Reportedly, this is going to be a regular phenomenon, as several other companies have also tentatively planned air-drops. However, for now, it is only Everipedia, who will be dropping their "IQ" token to all EOS address held in an Ethereum "wallet" at some time "near the end of February." Numbers and value remain unknown variables.

Everipedia is a block-chain based encyclopedia that will run entirely on EOS, and unlike Wikipedia, it is not intended to be free and run off donations. It will be interesting to see how such a project pans out, but they have already received $30m in funding for their "Wikipedia fork started in 2015" from "Galaxy Digital's EOS.IO Ecosystem Fund."

Eos 3.jpg

LA...we'll try not to hold that against them.

First, and most importantly, EOS holders will only receive their airdrops if they are holding EOS in an Ethereum address currently (since they can't be held on-chain yet).

This means the following locations will NOT receive air-drops

  1. Exchanges
  2. Exodus Wallet

In order to receive the air-drops, you will need to hold the EOS on a standard Ethereum address. Use MyEtherWallet if you want a way to also secure those EOS tokens under hardware wallet authentication, as MEW supports both the Ledger and the Trezor.

Furthermore, and not directly realted to the air-drops, EOS tokens must be registered before they can be transferred to the final blockchain. This is very important, as there are murmurs that coins could be lost if not registered. Statements have been made that there will be alternatives for those who do not register their EOS, but I'd prefer not to tempt fate.

Here are instructions for registering EOS via Exodus (not recommended for holding): http://support.exodus.io/article/65-register-eos

Here is a better post from Stellabelle highlighting the public-key mapping for EOS: https://steemit.com/eos/@stellabelle/can-i-send-my-eos-i-bought-on-an-exchange-to-my-ethereum-address-which-is-registered-to-eos-infographic\

Also, if you are on the fence about EOS, and looking for a reason to pick some up before the airdrop, perhaps you'd be interested to know that they have partnered with Bitfinex to create a trustless, decentralized exchange on EOS technology:

EOS 2.png

Can I finally leave my coins on this one in limit orders?

I'll more fully discuss this exchange development in a future post, as this is huge. Finally we could have the security of something like Bitshares without the need to use an interface most closely resembling a digital Egyptian abacus. I look forward to the glorious day I no longer must harp on the need to remove one's coins from exchanges!

Try SteemFollower today and get rewarded for every vote!
See my explanation of SteemFollower here.

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 5000+ active user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Almost 80% of Steemians do not vote for witnesses, who secure the Steem blockchain! If you wish to make me your witness voting proxy, I will attempt to vote in Steem's best interest based on the information in my witness reports. You may set me as your proxy by clicking here and scrolling to the bottom of the Witness Voting page. Proxies are instantly revokable at any time, and witness voting does not use your voting power.

Proxy.png

Join the Steemit Poker League! (@spl)
World's Largest Cyptocurrency Freeroll Poker Site, open only to Steemians!

Sources: Exodus, EOS, Google, EOS.io, The-Blockchain.com, Stellabelle
Copyright: Exodus, EOS, Everipedia, RTTNews

Sort:  

Question, do the EOS tokens need to be claimed in an Ether adress to be viable for the airdrop?

is it airdrop for free token or what?

Questions:

#1 this EOS-exchange you mention, will it be up in time to exchange cryptos for Eos(finex) before the airdrop? What ID will the exchange require, we're tired of having to forfeit email addresses or phone numbers to cryptos. isn't one of the great things about crypto that you get to be anonymous?

#2 Since Larimer founded Steem/Steemit, you'd think one would have an EASY way to exchange steem for Eos. This seems obvious, even if Larimer HATES Steem now, creating an easy way for steemians to trade OUT of steem and INTO Eos is a no-brainer. Why does everyone in crypto force you to buy/trade Ether to participate in anything? (see Scorum-- they idenitify with related assets but won't let you use Steem to buy into their ICO).

#3 Google created a for-pay version of Wikipedia and it failed. not sure why given they could plug it with search results. Everipedia sounds ideal, but will it properly incentivize people to create on it? Just mostly wondering what the editing process will be, if a POS-like system, then those with the most "money" get to re-write history. that's kinda odd. Or we missing something?

great post, VERY informative. Exactly the type of stuff we like to read. also doing a rare resteem as this stuff is so timely.

you'd think one would have an EASY way to exchange steem for Eos. This seems obvious

Why does everyone in crypto force you to buy/trade Ether to participate in anything? (see Scorum-- they idenitify with related assets but won't let you use Steem to buy into their ICO).

Man I made almost the exact same sort of observations back in the summer when I first got into all this.

I happen to think it's a real shame they didn't do an airdrop for steem holders. Seems a logical thing to do.

"Everipedia sounds ideal, but will it properly incentivize people to create on it? Just mostly wondering what the editing process will be, if a POS-like system, then those with the most "money" get to re-write history. that's kinda odd. Or we missing something?"

Exactly my thoughts, and that's exactly what needs to be talked about.

Is it safe to use MyCrypto.com yet to register EOS tokens?

I'm not using MyCrypto at all, I am still using the same MyEtherWallet interface.

It should be safe if you are using a hardware wallet to secure your wallet via MEW and you check all transfer addresses for hijacking.

Ugh... so much to worry about... makes me want to wait until I can buy official EOS tokens directly... these fools over at Everpedia should just wait.

The security situation is really a bit nuts out there, if you want to be safe.

Of course, if it was easy to just buy it officially, you wouldn't get the discount of a lower price! It could be $40 by that time.

Very true, but sometimes... it's just better to be safe.

I was thinking the same thing "just wait until we can get a real EOS wallet to airdrop". Because its kinda like another Erc20.

Mycrypto is still new and it is not yet launching, for right now will be better use myetherwallet than mycrypto although it will be the new version of myetherwallet.

Cool! Free crypto! :)

I still have not registered my EOS (I may want to move them to another account, dunno yet, don't want to tie myself down). But from your post I understand that this is no obstacle to receiving this airdrop, right? I just wanted to ask to be extra-extra sure :)

I'll resteem this, I think my followers may find it interesting!

It seems that as long as you are holding the tokens on an Ethereum address, like with MEW, you will get the airdrop. A developer popped into the Reddit and noted that you do not need to have them registered, yet.

Could be wrong there.

Sounds good to me, thanks!

The season for non-ERC20 airdrops has opened, it seems! Bring them on!! :)

Thanks for the info about holding EOS in the exodus wallet (which is what I have been doing). Is MyEtherWallet the best to hold it then? Will the airdrop tokens show up in the same wallet or do I need one that supports those as well? Thanks!

If you are holding the tokens at an Ethereum address via MEW, all tokens can attach to that same address. There is an interface for viewing them all at the right, or you can use etherscan or ethplorer.

Thank you so much for the heads up. I need to get mine moved from bitshares.

Dear @lexiconical, if there is a number where I put qty here, it's all good?

Or is it mandatory to claim these?

I'm not familiar with that interface, as I actually haven't registered my tokens.

Be VERY careful you aren't getting fished. Check for a guide from a reputable source, or cross-reference Stella's guide.

To me, this seems like the ONLY legit interface...

Who shuld put Adresse?

Right now i have my eos on my Jaxx wallet. I havent had time to figure out mew and metamask completely yet. My eos address on Jaxx is the same as the eth address. Would i be eligable for the airdrop still or is it possible to import my jaxx wallet to mew. Ive been at this for almost a year but spend all my time researching coins and icos, not learning wallets. Jaxx holds btc dash bch monero and other so would those just not be available in mew if i did import it to mew. Im so confused.

thank for sharing this informations with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57