Bad Santa and The Grinch - Discovering how EOS works Christmas story

in #eos5 years ago

Happy hollidays fellow Steemians,
if I was presenting this live as a fairytale I would ask the audience: "Please raise your hands who claimed their EOS tokens in June 2018 before the mainnet launch and since then didn't do anything with them". If I am not alone and there are couple of hands let me continue. So this "real" EOS after claiming continued to exist as a private key on my flashdrive and as a portfolio position on my smartphone's app, which always kind of reminded me of the fact that before you have tried the functionality of any given instance in crypto world don't be so sure that you actually 'have' or can 'move' it, or IT 'exists' at all. Somewhere close to the end of my Christmas to-do-list, where the list gets less urgent and more fun, there was a bullet point named 'play with EOS'. After doing some reasearch on wallets Simpleos Wallet was chosen to fulfil the task.

Installing, opening, copy-pasting the private key...
a short but long moment of silence...
...
...and the balance appeared on the screen!

After spending some time sightseeing it was right on time to discover some presents under the city pine tree - handful of different tokens airdropped to the account just for holding EOS. Surprisingly some of them had value and seemed to be trading on some exchanges. Learning about the projects, trying to move tokens to and from the exchanges and expirimenting with their functionality can for sure make a topic for a different text.

Having heard a lot about different aspects of voting for delegates in EOS, I decided to try out the voting system and also get to know some of the delegates first. The next step was to try to move my EOS to and from an exchange and here came Bad Santa and the Grinch. It was to be discovered that almost all of my balance was by default staked and unstaking takes 3 days. Still don't know if this is a particular Simpleos Wallet feature or this applies to any wallet - comments appriciated. The next unexpected thing was that my actions couldn't be broadcasted to the blockchain because I was lacking RAM or CPU Bandwidth or both. Getting to know what those mean in the EOS system will probably be added to my Orthodox Christmas to-do-list. This seems to be worth knowing not just because those parameters may impinge your ability to broadcast any action to the blockchain but also because there is a whole universe of buying and selling RAM on some internal market.

After three days of waiting for the wished amount to be unstaked and probably improving my CPU and RAM parameters during that period I was able to successfully broadcast transactions. Sending and receiving EOS as well as other stuff in the Wallet reminded of it being SteemIt's brother in many senses.
Cheers to all the family members!

IMG_20170312_115834_HDR.jpg

picture: Финский Хутор 3, Приозерский район.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75