Learning Blockchain Programing

in #eos6 years ago

Once I discovered Bitcoin and Crypto I became fascinated with the way they work. It opened my eyes to the world of coding and all the possibilities that power brings. I started taking online coding classes but found it hard to stay focused with a demanding job and not much time to spend working on skills. It just seemed like such an overwhelming amount of stuff to learn and I already felt so far behind in the game. It just seemed like something that was so far out of reach and it would be discouraging to think about how much I had to learn. I still kept at even though I felt like I was not getting anywhere.

As crypto has gotten more popular there have been an increasing number of meet ups happening around town. At first everything was just price driven but slowly the people that were more interested in the technology have started banding together. All of the interest is centered around Ethereum and that is the platform everyone is trying to build on. I am much more interested in learning Graphene and trying to build projects with that but at the same time I am learning so much from being in this group with so many talented people. The meeting is actually starting to get a lot more attention locally and there is even a recruiter coming to our next one. He works for a company that recently raised 35 million in their ICO and he is driving 4 hours just to attend in hopes of finding people to hire.

Now I'm not in a position to be hired by this company because I'm still in the learning phase it is very encouraging to see how many opportunities seem to be opening up for people with the right skillset. I heard recently from a company that was presenting at the North American Bitcoin Conference that there are 14 programming jobs for every 1 programer. I also saw an interview with a team member from Polymath and they said that they recently tried to hire a blockchain developer and he turned down an offer of 500k per year!

So there are a growing number of opportunities out there and also many opportunities to just create your own Dapp or project. I already have an idea for a project I want to create and I'm hopping to be able to launch it on EOS. I'm trying my best to convert some of the Ethereum devs I am am working with to EOS. It just seems overly complicated and expensive to deal with the fees on the Ethereum network. These are exciting times for sure. I really look forward to being able to start my own local EOS meet up and find a lot of inspiration seeing what is happening with the EOS NYC group.
https://steemit.com/eos-meetup/@eosnewyork/eos-new-york-meetup-february-8th-2018-recap!

Also if you are thinking about starting an EOS meet up you should consider contacting @eosnewyork. They seem very willing to help share knowledge!

So what about you?

  • Are trying to teach yourself?
  • Are you thinking about learning?
  • Are you already working on a project?

I can't stress enough how much faster I feel like I'm learning by being around other developers. If you have anything to share please do so.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rumble! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hai Rumble, great post! I just started an EOS Development Screencast series on developing on the EOS platform. I curious on how you perceive my first post and some suggestions to improve and some topics you would like to see covered. Let me know if interested, and thanks for the follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61511.66
ETH 2989.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63