Why I Sold All My Ethereum And Bought EOS. And No, It's Not Because It's An Ethereum Killer.

in #eos6 years ago


Over the course of the past week I have been slowly offloading my Ethereum and buying EOS. Most of my Ethereum I bought at around 10 USD and though I've sold a lot, I had around 6 Eth left so into EOS it marched outside of a small amount I've kept for transaction purposes in my ether wallet. To Ethereum fanatics these would seem ludicrous but I have my reasons. A lot of people have heralded EOS the Ethereum killer and there is a chance they may be right but that's not necessarily my reasoning though it played a role. I even remember when at one point it was a popular gossip that Ethereum would maybe someday have to look at integrating EOS in order to solve its scalabilty issues. This was before Plasma of course. But reasons for this move were simple in the end:

  1. I like how the EOS block chain will be governed. If a block producer does something unethical they will lose their ability to generate an income. Block producers aren't able to change the consensus in the community. With each transaction I'm signing the hash of a constitution which empowers all users of the network to hold other users accountable. It's this self governance that appeals to me as a concept.

  2. I like the fact that things will be able to be built on it that just can't be done on Ethereum. Right now there is no way Steemit for instance could be designed on Ethereum. It would be to slow and we would all have to keep buying tokens just to play on the platform. Despite everything that you can do on Ethereum, there's a lot you can't do that EOS can.

  3. The glaringly obviouse of course, EOS will be able to do everything that Ethereum can do but better. Though Plasma is seemingly going to work for Ethereum in resolving the scaling issue I don't have faith in Ethereum due to the many problems it's had.

  4. Ethereum is a pain in the ass to design applications on. That's just a plain fact. EOS will be coming in providing easy access for the novice developer and programmer making it more appealing to a larger user base.

  5. I think Ethereum is already over valued so I dumped it. Right now I believe EOS to be at a great price for a ICO token so making the trade was an easy decision. Even if for some crazy reason Ethereum fly's out to 2,000 USD I don't believe in the long term I will regret the decision.
    I've heard it said that Ethereum has grown to big to fail and a quick look at the A list names at the Enterprise Ethereum Alliance makes this easy to believe. I find it hard to believe Ethereum will fail. I've just lost confidence it. I think it will plug forward in the crypto sphere for some time to come, I just don't think it will be able to perform or upgrade itself to fully weigh in with it's rising competitors. The analogy used by Dan Larimer comparing EOS to a super highway and Ethereum to a single lane road with pot holes was a great way to conceptualize it. As I said, some may agree here,some may disagree. For those who are reading this and new to the whole block chain world I am working on a series on Steemit to explain EOS in simple terms so that it's easy to understand for the newbie to cryptocurrencies. My aim is to explain in a language anyone can understand why EOS is important as a token, an operating system, and as a tool. It's a work in progress and I'm up to part 4, but if you're new to the cryptocurrency world then please give it gander. Well, that'sit guys. Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Good write-up. I completely agree with you. It is highly unlikely Ethereum can resolve all issues and EOS is chugging along very well. I am waiting for Dawn 3.0 in a couple of months and we will be ready to see EOS compete in real world applications hopefully soon. Ethereum is still critical as it has got a working solution and it will help build blockchain ecosystem while EOS is still under development.

I am in the same position with you! Good luck and enjoy ;)

I have been very intrigued behind the EOS project... I hope it comes out sooner than later, looks promising.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71