How I lost 5 ETH trying to buy EOS

in #eos7 years ago

INTRO

I want to explain everyone what happened to me yesterday. It's important for me, so I can get over it, and I hope people won't do the same mistake.


My plan

Yesterday evening, I wanted to buy EOS token using 5 ETH (for me it's a lot of money). I decided to wait for the end of period #5, so I can compare the ratio ETH/EOS Token with market price of ETH/EOS.

The environnement

I had a very tiring and stressing day at work. Then when I get home my girlfriend was begging for help with her computer. My 2 cats were meowing for food. And the Token countdown clock was ending soon... 

The loss

I went on http://eos.io/distribution to get tokens. I already did it the day before with no problem... but with very very few ETH (it was a test). 

But yesterday the website was not responding with metamask. So I decided to use www.myetherwallet.com to transfert my ETH. 

I copied the eos.io address and paste it in www.myetherwallet.com

Normally I ALWAYS TRIPLE CHECK the address, but this time I didn't... With the stressing environnement around, I wanted to go fast.

When the period #5 was over, I went to check my EOS token and the nightmare began: 0 token.


Actions taken

->I saw that my ETH had been sent to another address from the EOS one.

Why did this happened ?

I am not sure, but I think my computer or browser has some kind of malware that changed the address when I paste it.

I went to see the contract where my ETH were sent. Other people commented that it's a SCAM address. Also I can see a lot of ETH are sent on the address. You can have a look at this scam contract address here: https://etherscan.io/address/0xa46847df9032d0abe4156bc56f3eb9188a2bd40a#comments

I am not a crypto expert at all. If someone can give me explanation on this...

Whose fault is it ? Who to blame?

It's 100% my fault. I can only blame my self. I should have been more careful.

That being said, this is a steal. There is someone who is stealing other people money.

What can we do about this?


So what now ?

At the moment I am depressed and didn't sleep well last night. Now I need to get over this and stop being sad about it.

There are more important stuff in life...


If you want to help me

  • REPLY: if you have a comment that can help in anyway, please send a reply. 
  • SHARE: share this post, try not to make the same mistake
  • SPEAK: Am I alone in this case? This has happened to other? Share a link or a story about it
  • UPVOTE: to cheer me up a little

If you want to help me more 

  • FOLLOW: you can follow me. I post my own comics on a daily basis:  https://steemit.com/created/nerdz   
  • WHO KNOWS: if you are rich, feel free to me some ETH on my account to refill me:   
    0xD15d05D8Ae2F9D4cDfe0638C2fF645E88bb1CA1b  


Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Sorry for your loss. I hope many people read this to confirm the address after c&p (I do only the first and the last 2 or 3 letters, but will take care more about it). Was not aware about this type of malware.

I feel for your loss man! I got similar experience yesterday and lost 1 ETH... :( In my case it's even worse since the contract address is the correct one! But after claiming all I received 0 EOS tokens!!! I really don't understand why I'm not getting my EOS tokens and have more and more the feeling that my money is totally gone...

Gutted for you mate. Hopefully one day you make it back and far more with Steem dollars/power!

Thank you. That is my plan. I stop the EOS/ETH token trading and focus on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64