Reminder: the eosDAC Airdrop Happens on April 15th at 01:00 UTC!

in #eosdac6 years ago

I've been working like crazy with the eosDAC launch team to get ready for this airdrop (read more about me joining the eosDAC launch team here). I don't think my post on how to buy EOS or the coming eosDAC airdrop has much to do with the recent price rise in EOS because EOS was remaining steady (or even rising against BTC) while so many other cryptocurrencies were going down during this recent correction. It's a solid technology with a really bright future.

That said, the eosDAC airdrop does have a lot of people talking. People love what they perceive as free money, so airdrops create a lot of buzz. The EOS related Telegram channels are filled with questions about it! Please, don't bug the other channels but go directly to the eosDAC Telegram instead for all your eosDAC questions: https://t.me/eosdacio You can also see the eosDAC.io website for more details on the token.

There's less than two days left before the snapshot:

I've been pretty busy answering questions in the Telegram chat.


The same questions come up often:

  • What if I use Exodus?
    • It's not fully supported, but you will get your tokens and can export your private key to access them via MEW.
  • Does Binance support the airdrop?
    • No announcement from them at this time. To be safe, move to a wallet you control or a supported exchange.
  • Do I need to register my EOS for the airdrop?
    • Not for this eosDAC airdrop.
  • What if I have less than 100 EOS?
    • Join the newsletter for updates on the manual process. It'll be a simple form where you enter your Ethereum address and get added to a queue.

I got a simple prototype of that form working today which queries snapshot data.

Stay tuned to eosDAC announcements so you can use this form after the snapshot to claim your eosDAC if you have less than 100 EOS tokens. More than 100 EOS will be distributed automatically and won't require any action on your part.

As far as this airdrop goes, it's really pretty simple. Just make sure your EOS is in a wallet you control on April 15th at 01:00 UTC time. That's it. If you trust your cryptocurrency on an exchange (you really shouldn't, as the first rule of cryptocurrency is if you don't own and control the private key, you don't own the cryptocurrency) then check the list of exchanges who have announced their support for the airdrop here: https://eosdac.io/exchanges/. If you want to move your EOS after the snapshot, you're free to do so (though to be safe, I wouldn't move anything for an hour or so after that time). Also, keep in mind, it may take several weeks for all the tokens to be distributed because we have to make a lot of transactions on the (not so speedy) Ethereum network.

Here's a nice eosDAC airdrop explainer video Andrew from the launch team put together:


I was really hoping OpenLedger would support our eosDAC airdrop, but when I emailed their support about it, I got the standard response that they don't support airdrops. However, they decided, for the first time, to support an airdrop! I'm really excited about that as I'm a big fan of BitShares and OpenLedger. They did a news video about it here talking about how unique this situation is. Exciting times!


It's after 12:30am, and I'm pretty tired, so I'm going to get some sleep. Oh, before I forget, there's a medium post scam going around that I won't even bother linking to which claims an EOS Dawn 3.0 Airdrop is happening and then links to a phishing site claiming to be MEW (MyEthereumWallet). Don't fall for stuff like this! Never put your passwords or private keys into any website unless you are absolutely sure it's a site you completely trust and it is only using your key within the browser and not sending it anywhere.

I hope you're all having a great week. If you join the eosDAC Telegram, but sure to say hello.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Luke Thanx for the update. EOS is definitely a great platform which will take care of scalability issues. But I have this question regarding EOS Tokens. What is the utility of EOS Tokens?
Bitcoin is a digital currency and we can use it instead of fiat currency but what is the functionality of EOS Tokens? Thank you.

EOS is like the AWS of blockchain technology. Many businesses, I think, will turn to them to power their blockchain activities. Just as companies needed to get on the Internet, they will need to get on the blockchain.

Seems interesting, good luck :-)

I like this cryptocurrency news

Awesome! I believe in Eos 😍

Wow. This is really nice. I have some questions to ask about the Eosdac but that will be on the telegram group. I will signup for the airdrop

I believe EOS is a great project and that's why there is a mass adoption of it. I wouln't want to be left out. Thanks for the reminder, I'm looking to the benefit from the airdrop.

I will just SIT TIGHT with my EOS and when I want my Air Drop Tokens I am sure there will be a wallet to put them in sometime in the Future.........

I guess I’m getting thousands of free eosdac’s 💪🏼🙌🏼😅😀

How do you find out your username on the EOS network once it launches? I didn't use the eos.io website, but the Bitshares DEX and hardware MEW wallet.

I don't think they have usernames yet. I heard someone say they were going to be random numbers. I'm not sure about any of that yet.

I have been looking at EOS for a while. At this point, the best course of action is probably to just hold tight and but after the snap shot.
Pretty sure that it will drop afterwards, like most coins have. If not, I guess I will have to pay more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73