Seeing My Old Esperanto Musician Friend Kim After 29 Years

in #esperanto7 years ago (edited)

Last week I visited Copenhagen, and I posted some pictures of my visit to Tivoli on Facebook (you can see them embedded in this Steemit post). To my suprise, an old friend who lives in Copenhagen reacted to these pictures and suggested to meet up - and he wrote to me in Esperanto!

In case you haven't heard of it: Esperanto was invented in 1887 as a neutral language for global communication. It is a mixture of romanic, germanic and slavic words with a very simple grammar. I learned Esperanto when I was 19 and spent some fun years in the global Esperanto community. I even had a band called La Mondanoj, which can be translated to 'Citizens of the World'.

We played at several Esperanto festivals in Hungary, Poland, Germany and France. There has always been a quite active Esperanto music scene, but I think we were the first band with a typical rock line-up of drums, bass and two guitars. I played rhythm guitar, sang and wrote the songs.

The other well known Esperanto band at that time was Amplifiki with band members from France, Sweden and Denmark. They were not really competitors but became good friends. I remember an awesome concert at Schloss Eringerfeld in Germany where we all shared the stage and played together. It was a blast!

Kim Hendriksen from Copenhagen was the singer, bass and accordeon player of Amplifiki (which can be translated to 'Amplify', but it has a second meaning, just look up fiki in an Esperanto dictionary). We met at several of those Esperanto events and we always had a great time together. Once we even formed a spontaneous jam band at a meetup in Croatia which we called La Varmigiloj ('The Radiators' or 'The Ones that Heat Up').

'La Varmigiloj' at our only gig in Zagreb, Croatia: Kim from Denmark, Balász from Hungary and me 

I gave up speaking Esperanto a long time ago and I haven't seen Kim since our gig in Zagreb. So I was very glad that he contacted me when I was in Copenhagen. We met up in a street food hall on Paper Island, where you can taste food from all around the globe in a funky atmosphere.

We both got less and greyer hair, but we easily recognised each other. Kim, who was raised as an Esperanto speaker by his parents, is still very active in the Esperanto music world. He didn't have much time as he had to catch a plane to Warsaw for a gig, but the hour we spent together was amazing. 

I must admit that my Esperanto has become a bit rusty, so we spoke in English and German. But I feel tempted to take part in an Esperanto event again. It's a nice language in which you can express everything. It's a pity that it has never really gained traction. English is just too widely spread as a world language, so I don't think Esperanto will ever replace it. But you do meet a lot of interesting people through it.

With E-friends from Catalonia, the Netherlands and Denmark in Croatia

Sort:  

Wow, happy you guys met. I have never heard of Esperanto language before, it sure is pretty unknown. I'll have to do more research on it. All the best.

Nice story. Esperanto is like the European Union. If it does not grow organically, people reject it. Am I right?

@felix.herrmann Sorry for commenting on an old post... However, I felt compelled! :) Esperanto has been growing "organically" for about 120 years or so. We have organic words for computer, television, mobile phone, app, etc. We've got cool music and original literature. The Internet has given Esperanto real life. I'm in the process right now of translating Steemit to Esperanto. It's a very useful language to bridge two cultures as a "middle" language. It's not "easy to learn", but it is much easier to learn than other national languages! Best wishes...

Bonege :) sed mi atendas novajxojn en esperanto :)

I would like to hear "esperanto" music!!! All the best for the projects!!

Sorry to comment on an old post, but I thought I would assist you with some of popular Esperanto musical artists. Here's a good sampler:

Thanks so much, because no matter time, I'm listening to this great music!!!
A big Hug!!! :)

Thanks for your work @aaronkoenig Followed ... I'm starting to read it now. I wish you continued success. I will continue to follow you. Take care of yourself, my dear friend.

hello frineds @aaronkoenig Thank you so much for sharing all this information! that's great! All the best! @aaronkoenig Waiting for more posts! :)

Perfect , follow up , I am sure very good sharing. I'm starting to read it now.How long have you been wondering how long you keep writing?

It's means you are an active personality from age of 19 .
On that time you have your own band.
Great sir
Small follower @amitraj

Kia amuza rakonto! Muziko ne vere bezonas vortojn. Tamen vivas esperanto!

#life
Forrest Gump : Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re going to get.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87