Sort:  

It's become harder now to get your driving license, but back in the day it wasn't too bad.
But of course I messed up big time, and I did that in the first 5 minutes of the test.
And the instructor didn't react at all, so I was in for a big surprise when I failed... haha
I didn't know that it was that easy to get your driver's license in the States... but from the movies I gather the law is enforced there
Here, we get away with a lot

Thank you fellow minnow @viking-ventures, so happy you enjoyed the read :D

It depends on where you are... Some places it's harder than others. New York (now, this was 1996) - it was a five minute test and not on any major roads... Two right turns, a three-point turn, a parallel park (and not even a challenging one), one stop sign, two left turns, a flashing light, then that was it. I couldn't believe they were going to issue me a license with so little knowledge of my driving!!!

In the UK, it was much, much harder including the ability to reverse around a corner, conduct an emergency stop, in addition to all the main bits. In lessons, you are also taught how to find the "bite point" with your clutch so that you don't roll back on a hill. Very useful skill that isn't taught in the US. I did fail the first time there, but then, I got a little cocky and tried prematurely.

With enforcement, again, it depends on where you are... But I'm aware in some parts of the world it's pretty lax.

That kinda makes sense since we were under British rule so I am sure that would naturally be the test we follow
Now you are given your license for Automatic so there isn't the clutch, brake, accelerator coaction(which I was adamant I must have with my first car and then I got used to without) and you are not allowed to drive a manual unless you take the license for it.
Hey, it was great chatting @viking-ventures... :D

Yes, in the UK, you're not allowed to drive a manual unless you test in a manual. In the US, it doesn't matter. My mother taught herself how to drive manual on the back roads - me in my car seat...

oh wow!!
I think our generation survived many, many things hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87