Wave Goodbye

in #esteem6 years ago

The heatwave is gone and we are back to normal

English summer. The rain is here, at least for today, and the clouds have blanketed London properly almost for the first time this summer. While I’m glad to see the fresher, less sticky weather, I will miss some things the heat wave brought.


3i3ct179uy.jpg


(1) Photography

Actually, a bright sunny day isn’t the best for photography. It makes photos way too harsh and washed out in terms of colour. Since I don’t have any waterproof cameras, however, the dry spell and hot weather meant I could head out with just my camera strapped around my neck. There has been no need for a water-proof camera bag, or danger of damaging my gear while out shooting.

(2) Laundry

I think everything in my house is now fresh and sparkling clean like I always wanted it to be. I found myself doing back-to-back laundry during this heat wave mainly because I could hang stuff to dry outside - and dry they did, in record time. This not only saved time (since I could just run one wash cycle after the other), it also saved me a load of cash in electricity bills.

(3) Energy

I’m talking about electricity and gas. My bills have been halved, if not less, during the heatwave. The obvious one is central heating, and the other is the one already alluded to above - laundry. I also have a lot of solar devices which were really in their elements during the bright and hot spell. For a change, the solar lights at the back of the house got a full charge during the day.


tuk7ync3mk.jpg

0e2fmny630.jpg

Camera: Mamiya 135 EE
Film: AgfaPhoto Vista Plus 200


Now that we are back to normal summer, I’m of mixed feelings.

The thought that we are now heading towards Autumn, and inevitably Winter, fills me with that dull “augh” feeling. Especially when the prediction is that we’re in for a really, really cold winter this year.


Banner.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Ya its over heading towards cold

good now comes the time to wear coat.
but the good thing is that the heat wave is deadly and dangerous for you Europeans, so at least they are more safe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99