Computer Kept on Entering UEFI Interface

in #esteem4 years ago

Just yesterday a co-employee of mine called me because her computer kept on entering UEFI interface. When I arrived at her computer it is indeed entering UEFI at its own after I pressed Ctrl + Alt + Del.

But I did not immediately notice that a thick folder is on top of the Enter key in her keyboard's Number Pad.

I immediately removed the folder then I restarted the computer again, and voila, her computer booted normally.

Her computer's motherboard is ASUS that mostly uses the "Del" key to access UEFI interface. But I was surprised that the Enter key in the number pad triggers the UEFI interface.

I know that most of the time Windows or the CPU itself will not be able to boot normally whenever a key on the keyboard is stuck.

This is the first time that I saw a stuck Enter key was able to trigger UEFI interface.

So, guys, whenever you turn on your computer, be it a laptop or desktop make sure that no foreign object is on top of your keyboard.



I am an I.T. professional (Computer Engineer) working in a private company, a blogger, a father and a husband.


357u2dlv22.png

t2igarqmc5.gif

s6g5fdmpr8.png

2b61yhskz8.png

Sort:  

Happens to me all the time. Besides folders, don't walk away without locking the screen if you have a stealthy cat. Mine loves to walk all over my keyboard, causing hate and discontent :-)

Yep, that's true, some cats love to sit or walk on top of laptops. Cats are cute though when they fell asleep on top of a laptop's keyboard.

Mine has never slept on my keyboard, but loves to walk all over it.

Mine has never slept
On my keyboard, but loves to
Walk all over it.

                 - joebrochin


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78