Mainland Europe is Nervous.

in #esteem5 years ago

I did a post about my time in France not so long ago. I found the atmosphere somewhat tense with alot of armed police patrolling the streets and the monuments with the recent terrorists attacks in the country.
bnlygogrsn.png

My sister was in Nice, France a month ago and she was enjoying a meal one evening with her best friend in a nice little restaurant near one of the squares. There was a festival at the north of the city and there were alot of people around. A loud bang sounded which created a stampede towards the restaurant. The restaurant strung into action . They locked the doors of the restaurant.They then told me suster and her friend to go to the back of the restaurant asked my sister as they flipped her table (meal wine and cutlery) up against the door to jam it in case anyone tried to enter. Everyone in the restaurant was panicing because a waiter said he heard machine gun fire. The staff hurried everyone upstairs and to the basement. Many people got split up from their partners including my sister. One little French girl was separated from her parents and they were crying. Everyone waited in silence apart from the crying and whimpers. Another waiter entered and told everyone to be quiet because there were gunmen outside. This wasn't turning out like the holiday my sister had expected. Claire has travelled the world and every second weekend she travels somewhere new. Nice was a beautiful place but she didn't sign up for this.
ulo5mmcdjj.png

After 15 minutes one of the Gendarmes signalled to the window of the restaurant that it was a false alarm. A flare had been set off by mistake which caused the stampede. 45 people were injured and 2 seriously but I looked into them and they have fully recovered.
Nice has had a terror attacked in June 2016 when a truck mounted the promenade and ploughed into the people enjoyed a lovely summers day. 84 people were killed that day so it is safe to say that the city is still on alert

ba53hcpwu5.png

I travel alot around Europe with my job and I am seeing a change in the mainland European countries. I moved back to Ireland from Germany 5 years ago but I think it was a perfect time to move back as I am not hearing good things at all. I presided in Frankfurt and Essen when I lived in Germany and I loved every minute of it. My German friend is a muslim and he told me that he has to check the schools every month to make sure that there is no shady teachings going on. He has had to move his kids two schools already.

iw3igiu20f.png

This is Frankfurt, Germany we are talking about. Belgium is another country that will be hit very soon. There are known terrorist cells in the major cities and a couple of times last year Brussels went into lockdown.
Here in Ireland is very safe. Thats the advantage of being an island nation. You either have to fly or sail here so we are safe in some respects but thats not to say something will not happen. Since the Iraq and Syrian wars, the world has become a very dangerous place. It is not If is will happen again , but it is When it will happen again.


![Steemit Bloggers]

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Hundred percent correct. Unfortunately all the migrants that flooded Europe weren't screen checked and was perfect to let any unsavory s in.
When I was in London last year there were a few bangs and people ran but a gunshot has a definite sound.
Being alert and aware of your surroundings is key. i honestly believe if this carries on there will be action taken against the Muslim religion. people will blame them for not policing their own people and they will become outcasts amongst the population. That is how humans work and think and I don't want to see that happen. I also have some Muslim friends and this is their biggest fear now.

In the US they seem to be mostly nervous about school shootings these days.
Sadly it's easier to blame a whole group when they seem to be different than yourself :/
https://amp.theguardian.com/us-news/2018/jul/20/muslim-terror-attacks-press-coverage-study

Not many express sorrow about right wing terrorism, although that's way more prevalent than maniac Muslims.
https://m.mic.com/articles/121263/white-groups-muslim-terrorist-attacks

Would you believe I was reading an article on that today . Right wing radicalism has replaced Islamic extremists as the CIA’s primary concern. It’s probably about time. Did you see who Brazil elected today? Very scary indeed.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely, didn't know about that guy before but after having a look at wikiquote yesterday I'm really sad that my dream of visiting Brazil has to be postponed indefinitely.

As a benefactor of @tagalong, please accept this upvote!

- The Tagalong Team

I didn't know either and followed your link. That is quite a serious right winger in power there now. He doesn't seem to like anyone.

That is human nature to bundle everyone together. I don't know where it will lead, but there will be blood shed as there always is.

So much was achieved during the Age of Enlightenment to let reason conquer our instincts. Unfortunately most of those achievements have been lost again.

Civilization is a fragile good. I also fear it's getting worse, one of the reasons I decided for a mobile lifestyle.

That is smart and you can up and move whenever required.I just hope there is no more trouble but we know it is only a matter of time.

Modern Europe is very similar to that depicted in the "Children of Men" movie but without infertility epidemic (for now at least).

You are one of the very few I know to see that film! What a film as well.

You are one of the very few I know to see that film!

Oh, really. To be honest I myself watched it only a couple of years ago. It seems that it was a financial failure because it wasn’t marketed all that well. But nevertheless BBC Culture’s poll of international critics placed it as the 13th best film of the 21st Century.

Thats interesting. I didn't know that. Great film. Great story . Grim times

I loved that film too. Seen it a few times already and I think it’s time for another viewing!

There is also a novel of the same name by P. D. James that was published in 1992(!) and I think I should give it a try before rewatching the movie.

All part of the plan. https://wikileaks.org/clinton-emails/ Clinton used Lybia to open the floodgates. Why? Only her puppet masters know. 1200 or so emails from her mentioning the take down of Lybia. I'm more nervous about the long-term effects. There will always be terrorism, especially in Europe. But giving these people a place to anchor in and spread is a self-inflicted a gunshot wound to the head. Look at what the Christians did to Europe when they came 1000 years of slaughter. And know it is the norm. But that's how it goes I guess

Sounds similar to the US about 15 years ago. Though we do have similar “false alarm” stampedes here even today. I walked into a mall about 15 minutes after one happened once. Turned out a table had gotten knocked over in the food court and the glass broke and all it took was a couple people yelling “gun!” and running and then the whole mall panicked. I mean, can’t really blame most people: if I saw 100 people running away from something I’d join them and run away too 😅

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You got a 23.02% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blanchy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.032 which ranks you at #10187 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 311 places in the last three days (old rank 10498).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #104.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

howdy sir blanchy! very interesting post and shows what the world has become nowadays. I'm so glad that was just a false alarm but wow, that restaurant has been training their people well haven't they, to jump into action that fast and decisively shows good training.
I'm glad you're back in Ireland.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00