Stress Relief : Steem MonsterssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem5 years ago

A short time ago one of @mrsbozz and I's neighbors passed away. It was a sad situation where she went in to the doctor with some pain and after doing some tests they found she was terminally ill with cancer.

Things progressed pretty quickly from there with her being moved to hospice and before we knew it her house was up for sale.

New neighbors can be a scary thing. At our old house, we had our share of new families moving in and out of the houses around us. Some of them were great, some of them not so much.

We were equally shocked when not even two weeks after the house being on the market there was a "Sold" sign attached to the realtor sign. The asking price seemed a little high to me, but maybe since it was part of an estate they just took the first offer they got.

Look online and you can no dobut find countless stories about the "neighbors from hell". We live in a pretty quiet community so the idea that this idyllic existence could be shattered made me very nervous.

I am really hoping to avoid a situation like we had in our old house where one of the neighbors was really into motorcross motorcycles. They proceeded to build a track in their backyard and would run the (loud!)motorcycle day in and day out around the yard.

Needless to say, my stress hit the ceiling when trucks with trailers started to pull in and out of the driveway next door. It was a full weekend of cars constantly in and out of the neighborhood.

I don't really have a problem with that, I am sure we made quite the ruckus when we moved in to our house. The idea of new neighbors had/has me off center though. What will they be like? Will we get along? Could they be new friends? Are they older? Younger? Our age? All of these questions and more were flying through my head.

Long story short... To relive that stress, I decided to play some Steem Monsters and try to complete my daily quests each day. Given my decks, I'm not really sure that Steem Monsters did much to relieve my stress though. I often find myself losing battles I totally feel I should win. Being forced to complete quests with a specific branch often puts me on a 10+ game losing streak that it feels will never end.

Eventually though, I was successful and my first day of the weekend I was able to pull down these rewards:

Nothing great, but that Divine Sorceress was a nice addition. Several more of those and I might be able to get my card boosted to level 4. As I said, everything else was pretty mundane.

I am at a tier where I get 15 cards for my daily rewards though, so I was really excited when my second batch pulled one of these:

I screwed up my screenshot though and I didn't get the other four cards that were pulled. I assure you though, they were all commons.

The daily quest on Sunday gave me a whole lot of nothing, but it did keep my mind off of what was going on next door. Making sure I didn't totally forget what was happening, our dog Jovi made sure to bark at every single bump and car door she heard.

Recently the people that run Steem Monsters have put a number cap on the rewards cards that will be issued. They also have started to introduce some new rewards cards.

Though my Earth deck is my absolute weakest, I was excited to see these cards pull for me today:

That Wood Nymph looks like it could be a decent healer if I can get it leveled high enough. Though that would mean I need to get Layanna boosted higher than level 2 as well!

Not much in my second group, but those Hobgoblins allowed me to get that card increased to level 4. In all, it was a pretty good weekend of questing. No Gold Foils and no Legendaries, but free is free right?

Hopefully these last days of the season will bring us all some really great cards. I am also looking forward to seeing the new ones they will be releasing!

I spent the rest of the weekend trying to get caught up on the Marvel movies so I can finally watch Infinity War.

I watched Ant-Man, Spiderman: Homecoming, and Thor: Ragnorak all this past weekend with the Thor movie being my favorite of the three.

Have a great week everyone and wish us luck with the new neighbors! Maybe they will think @mrsbozz and I are the annoying ones!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Even though I was big into Motocross in my late teens and twenties, I would never have blasted them around our neighborhood, I either road slowly to the area where we raced off road or took them on a trailer, hoping your new Neighbour’s fit in well with the neighborhood and fit well into the community

I can relate to whether Steemmosters is stress relieving or stress gaining, I took the time this weekend to try and understand the cards better and did better on yesterdays quest and then made it to GOld and even hit Diamond 1, where i promptly lost 3 times Ina row, lets see how I go with todays quest but it will be nice to get a few more reward cut son completing a quest

It is nice once you move up past only getting one card as your reward for doing the dailies. That is almost not even worth it when you are at that tier. I think I am starting to get to the point where I can't make my deck better without spending money and I am not sure I want to do that. Thanks for the good vibes!

I Bought a couple of packs a week a long while back I think even before the tournaments started but havent bought any for a while and am not sure if I will, yes only one card at the lower level i think is hard and willlimit newcomers from getting into it,I think it would help it to grow if they gave out more at the lower level as well, but it seems pretty popular so it must be doing well.
That said I do remember when I first hit silver and got 5 cards instead on one I was how cool is that LOL

Good luck with your new neighbors!! I would be stressing as well...
Bad neighbors really are just the worst...
A couple years ago, we had a winner. She was a teacher, who was all smiles and super friendly, that is, until she discovered we homeschool. WELL that was terribly offensive to her, I suppose. She refused to speak to us after that, and one day we had a cop knock on our door. It was evening and we were relaxing while the kids were in bed. The cop, who seemed a little embarrassed by the whole thing, told me the neighbor called him because we were stealing her cats from her yard. These cats, who were skinny and wormy, were coming over of their own accord because my kids were feeding them, (they looked like strays). He told me that she said we were not allowed on her property ever again, (I had never been over), and to leave their cats alone. Once I explained it to him, he told me not to worry about it, but to make sure we dont go on 'her' property, (she was renting, it wasnt hers anyway).
Lucky for us, she moved a couple months later...

The new neighbors are annoying, they drink outdoors and get loud, they have screaming matches at eachother frequently, BUT they mind their own business and dont come bothering me, so I guess it is a step up. Thats what happens when your neighbor is a rental property, you get new neighbors frequently... :/

Anywho, I hope you get good ones!!

Wow! I can't even imagine, that does sound horrible! Probably shouldn't mention that @mrsbozz and I both work for a public school 😮

Posted using Partiko Android

Bah ha ha.. so Im guessing you two hate me now as well? ;)

Its funny, I have a sister in law as well who is a teacher, and she wont speak to me either. I think some teachers take it as a personal insult that I would choose to teach my kids at home. No offense to you guys, or her. I just want to do it myself. ;)

I think it depends on where you live and what your motives are. Around here the schools are top notch. Most of the people that choose to homeschool have kids with behavior issues and feel the school is picking on them. They aren't doing the kids any favors in the long run by pulling them out.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess it just depends on how you look at it.
True, for families like you are mentioning, pulling the kids out of school may harm more than help. I think it just depends on the families and the issues they are dealing with.

Personally, I was homeschooled, and I knew from the beginning that I wanted to raise my kids the same way, not matter how good or bad the local schools were.
There's more to it than that. It's honestly a different way of life, where they can learn what they want to, and you can move at their speed. No worrying about falling behind or getting bored, no worrying about bullying or learning awful things from peers, and of course, more freedom, since you are not confined to a typical school schedule or curriculum.

I love teachers and the job they do. Im sure most teachers would be wonderful with my kids. However, for these, and a whole list of other reasons, I choose to keep them home. :)

(Of course, by 'keeping them home', I dont literally mean we are all alone at home all day every day. The kids have lots of different things they leave to do, such as art class, archery, and 4H. They also have neighborhood friends and spend afternoons outdoors playing and riding bikes with the other kids.)

Haha... we were the new neighbours for quite some time, but recently we have had a new couple move in next door.... and they are great! Hopefully, yours will also be good ones... but just to make sure, you should hang out in the window spying on them with a pair of binoculars, and make lots of photos of them when they come in and out of the house!

Already on that! 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I definitely wish you luck with your new neighbors. (And I, too, have some stories I could tell. Maybe if I have time later you'll hear from me.) Fingers crossed. That motorcycle thing would have driven me around the bend. No pun intended. (Well, not at first anyway.)

Yeah, it was pretty crazy with the motorcycles. Plus they had kids that would just run through our yard like they paid the mortgage. We wouldn't have minded if they at least asked. They seemed to think they were entitled though.

Posted using Partiko Android

🏆 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @ilsaione
Subscribe and increase the reward for @bozz :) | For investors.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.583 which ranks you at #5856 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 23 places in the last three days (old rank 5879).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great way to blow some steam off ( No pun intended :) ). I need to look more into Steem Monsters. I keep saying that but just need to do it

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 4.36% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25