Working with Bozz: The Radio Shack Years - Part 3

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

This is a continuation of the series I started about my time working at Radio Shack. Check out my profile for past posts on this subject.

If you have worked in any kind of retail business, you are probably very familiar with the amount of employee turnover that they can have. Radio Shack was no different. For the first six months or so things were pretty stable. After that, it was an endless stream of new faces.

I think the turn over we saw when I first started was due more to lack of knowledge. The employees would start and realize all of the product tests they had to take and just give up. In my later years at Radio Shack the turn over could probably be attributed to it just not being worth it.

What I mean when I say it wasn't worth it is, if you weren't willing to put in the time or effort to be a "good" sales person, you weren't going to make that much money. A portion of our salary at Radio Shack was commision after all. If you could set aside your integrity and dignity for half a day, you could be a great salesperson.

I tried it for a short time, I didn't really like the person I was. I remember there was a time when Radio Shack entered a partnership with Sprint. As part of the partnership we were able to sell Sprint PCS phones and Sprint long distance service on your landline.

I remember a specific weekend where our manager promised the district manager that we would sign 25 people up for Sprint long distance service. The district manager didn't believe we could do it and promised he would buy us all pizza if we did.

Looking back now, a pizza party was kind of a lame reward for the amount of work we had to put in. The other benefit was, for each person we signed up, we got a $5 SPIFF. (Please read the other posts in this series if you need an explanation of SPIFF's).

I went to work that weekend, trying to prove the district manager wrong and trying to impress my manager. I was talking to every customer about Sprint LD, I never lied to the customers, but later, part of me just felt dirty for talking them into something that they really didn't want or need.

Needless to say, we met our goal, we got the pizza party and I got a nice little bonus in my check from the 10 or so customers I had single handedly switched to Sprint LD.

I could never quite match the same gusto after that. I stayed working with Radio Shack because it was stable and familiar to me by then. I was in college and I was making enough to pay my tutition while I was living with my parents.

I will be honest, I was never a great salesperson, but after that weekend I think I became even less so. Radio Shack always had a focus on dollars per ticket and lines per ticket. They wanted you to maximize your sales, but I just had a hard time selling stuff to people they didn't come in for.

Stop back next week as I continue to reminisce about my time with Radio Shack. I still have to talk about some of the people I worked with, my first annual inventory, my first Christmas working retail, and all of the other crazy adventures I had at Radio Shack.

image source

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

I can relate to not being suited for sales, I have only once worked very breifly in sales and only for a week, it just wasn'nt in me to be a salesmen and even though it was only a week it seemed so much longer

I hear you, looking back now those three years were just a flash in the pan, but at the time it seemed like forever!

Its cool reading your posts about your time there makes me think back to various times in my career

Thank you!

I know that feeling. I was never someone who was cut out for sales. Especially when it is about upselling people. Even worse is the time I went to a job interview and after all the questioning they offered me a position and proceeded to tell me I would actually be cold calling people. I walked out the door.

I don't blame you for that. My friend is great at it, but I can't do it.

I don't blame you for
That. My friend is great at it,
But I can't do it.

                 - bozz


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I know the feeling. I tried 'real sales' twice. Once was heavy (ag equipment) and I made more money than the general manager so he split my territory into three. I said adios.

The other was life insurance. I was drinking at the time, so I would numb out every day but we were told to 'sell them the Cadilac, bring the Volkswagen out last." and scare the customers into buying. I didn't feel very good about myself, but I learned a LOT.

Thanks for another great look at the past Bozz. I really enjoy them.

Thanks! I appreciate it. I know it helps a lot if you are good at small talk and don't mind shooting the bull. I am just not built that way though. Get talking to me about a shared interest and I probably won't shut up, but just coming up with stuff on the fly to talk about, it's hard for me.

I think honest is the best for the long run, but probably not for the revenue :) . I think I would do terrible in a commercial store for that reason. Although I do believe people return to you if you give them the advise they need and is the truth, even if it will cost you revenue...

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 254 (9/11/18)

Thank you!

You know.. I hate those guys who try to sell me extra unwanted insurance!.. haha..

:) Yeah I hate that too!

I've worked in sales and it's like that. You have to find strategies to push your product into their list of priorities, and then push it up to the top. Sometimes people don't need it. Sometimes people really, really shouldn't have it, but if you're really "good" at sales, you make them buy it anyway.

It has its quirks and it can become unpleasant depending on your moral and ethical compass. I didn't try to sell to everyone most of the time. It felt dry and wrong. But sometimes I was really in need and had to tune up my sales pitch and make everyone a mark.

I can understand and appreciate that. There were time when I just had to be honest and tell people, this isn't going to do what you want it to...

Exactly. Salespeople also run on honour and image. If you scam, you're soon to be viewed as a scammer and you will lose many a client.

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.909 which ranks you at #10943 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 24 places in the last three days (old rank 10967).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 487 contributions, your post is ranked at #104.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85